Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What's your format and/or device of choice
Like many here probably I've got music on all formats (tapes,cd, records, etc). But given the technology of today, I think mp3 (ripped at 320k from cd) is the way to go. I keep an 8gig iPod touch freshly filled with music (it also has orb and last.fm support via wifi).

And I keep a vestax turntable and a vintage NAD stereo system for the "obsolete" formats also.

What's your poison?
"Music is amazing. There's some metaphysical comfort where it allows you to be isolated and alone while telling you that you are not alone... truly, the only cure for sadness is to share it with someone else. " © Wayne Coyne
Obsolete only, I'm afraid (If you count CD as obsolete)...

I've got into trouble before on this site's predecessor for espousing the sound of vinyl. I firmly believe that vinyl out-performs any other medium that I've heard. Having said that, I've no experience with high bit-rate MP3, so perhaps I should rein in my opinions.

Most of my music is on CD, and I'm still buying them regularly with no intention of changing this until I have to. Haven't bought vinyl for years despite the above due to the prohibitive costs.

Hardware:

- Linn LP12 turntable, with a Linn Ekos arm, & Linn Karma cartridge

- Naim Audio CDS CD player with outboard CDS-PS power supply

- Naim Audio NAC-72 pre-amp with outboard Hi-Cap power supply

- Naim Audio NAP 135 mono power amps

- B&W 803D speakers

- Oh, and an i-Pod Shuffle postage stamp for listening to in the garden

- Oh, and a 1930's vintage wind-up gramophone for looking at
Tiggi Wrote:I firmly believe that vinyl out-performs any other medium that I've heard.

True.

Tiggi Wrote:Having said that, I've no experience with high bit-rate MP3, so perhaps I should rein in my opinions.