online listen
this is like background music for me
or something you would put on to go to sleep with
if you wanted to go to sleep real fast
I like foreground music

from the album - As Young As Yesterday

released Nov 15th, 2011

from all music


Korallreven are an electronic pop duo based in Sweden made up of Marcus Joons and Daniel Tjäder, who also plays in the band Radio Dept. The duo's dreamy, synth-heavy sound that mixes shoegaze textures with dance floor friendly beats isn't far from the sound of fellow Swedes jj, the Tough Alliance and Air France, as well as Panda Bear. They released their first single, "Loved-Up", in July of 2009 for the Swedish label Service. They signed to the Canadian label Acephale and in April of 2010 released a 12" of "The Truest Faith," then followed it with "Honey Mine" (which featured vocals from ex-Concrete Victoria Bergsman) in October. By this time, the band was a favorite of bloggers who were impatiently awaiting a full length album. After striking a deal with Swedish label Hybris to co-release their work, the band returned in Spetember with a new single "As Young as Yesterday" and the long awaited album An Album by Korallreven in November. It featured all their previous singles and more guest vocals from Bergsman and also Julianna Barwick.

Album Review

There must be some hard-to-fathom factor in the DNA of young musicians in Sweden that causes them to make the sunniest, happiest, warmest music you could imagine. Not all of them, of course, and Sweden does have a legendarily dark metal scene, but enough to make you wonder what’s going on. Whether it’s the fresh-faced joy of Acid House Kings, the oddly cheerful melancholy of the Concretes, or the Balearic charms of the Tough Alliance, the music of Sweden is like a giant shot of life restoring goodness. As you may have guessed, Korallreven have all the warmth and inner beauty of the best Swedish pop, creating a sound that falls directly alongside fellow synthy dreamers Air France, jj, the Tough Alliance, and American ringer Panda Bear. Built on washes of synths, pulsating, often tropical beats, and buried-in-reverb vocals, the duo of Marcus Joons and Daniel Tjäder (of the Radio Dept.) don’t do anything all that tricky on An Album by Korallreven. They aren’t too interested in creating new sounds, in fact, most of the keyboards sound like they are still on the factory settings. What they do instead is create a sweeping and sun-kissed sound from these stock parts (and lovely guest vocals on three tracks by former Concrete Victoria Bergsman and looped vocals by Julianna Barwick on another) that’s so infectious and inviting that it doesn’t really matter if you’ve heard it before. The song’s melodies are so strong and the arrangements are so perfectly structured that the album flows like a lazy summer day where time seems to stretch and slow down. Even within this intricate, album-like structure that ebbs and flows, and the wide expanses of near ambience, there are still songs that stand out. “Honey Mine” sounds like a long lost Ace of Base song, riding a fake reggae beat and Bergsman’s sweet vocals, “Loved-Up” adds guitars to the mix and sounds like an ultra-relaxed New Order, and "The Truest Faith" is dancefloor-friendly and super-catchy; they all sound like mixtape champs. Taken as pieces or as a whole, the album is easily the equal of anything their contemporaries have released and an exhilaratingly chilled-out listen from start to finish that will warm up even the longest winter night.

Track Listing

1. As Young as Yesterday
2. Sa Sa Samoa
3. The Truest Faith
4. Keep Your Eyes Shut
5. Loved-Up
6. Comin' Closer
7. Pago Pago
8. Honey Mine
9. A Surf on Endorphins
10. Comin' Down