Bonnie Raitt sounding vocalist
a lot of them jams the genre seems to like
nice live clip

Grade - 1.4

released June 7th, 2011

from the album - Midnight In Harlem - 1.5

from all music


The Tedeschi-Trucks Band -- led by married couple guitarist and vocalist Susan Tedeschi and slide guitarist Derek Trucks -- began as a summer touring unit known as the Soul Stew Revival. It was both a practical consideration for the pair to spend time together with their young family and a musical endeavor. Soul Stew Revival featured members of their own bands and numerous guest musicians. The loose knit cooperative band performed roof-raising shows full of soul, blues, funk, and gospel standards as well as original material. After one of these tours, the pair decided to create a home studio to be better able to finance their own recordings. Tedeschi and Trucks performed a cover of "Space Captain" on Herbie Hancock's Imagine Project, and solidified an 11-piece studio and touring band from their own units, as well as horns and percussionists. Renamed the Tedeschi-Trucks Band, they signed to Sony's Masterworks imprint, and wrote and recorded over 30 songs, and eventually pared the selection down to 11 tracks for their debut album, Revelator, released in June of 2011.

Album Review

Revelator is the debut studio album from the 11-piece Tedeschi-Trucks Band, who already have a reputation as a wildly exciting live jam group. That said, the record that Susan Tedeschi and husband Derek Trucks have recorded proves something beyond their well-founded reputation as a live unit: that they can write, perform, and produce great songs that capture the authentic, emotional fire and original arrangements that so many modern blues and roots recordings lack. The duo forged their two individual solo bands (Trucks remains with the Allman Brothers Band) and added some other players. Oteil and Kofi Burbridge and Mike Mattison, as well as drummers Tyler Greenwell and J.J. Johnson are on board, as well as backing vocalists and a horn section. Produced by Trucks and Jim Scott, these 12 songs seamlessly meld blues, rock, Southern soul, gospel, and funk traditions into a heady, honest brew. The record also showcases Tedeschi as one of the finest vocal stylists in roots music, and Trucks, who has become the true heir of Duane Allman in his slide tone as well as his sense of taste and restraint. More than this, Revelator offers proof that this pair and their bandmates are serious songwriters. While the single, "Midnight in Harlem," highlights the softer, soulful side of the band with Tedeschi's croon and Trucks' swooning slide, it's the harder numbers that fill out the story. The sexy opener "Come See About Me," the bluesy, gospelized "Don't Let Me Slide" (one of two cuts written by Trucks with Jayhawk Gary Louris), the second-line funk-blues of "Bound for Glory" with its punchy horns; all of these offer evidence of the real depth that this band abundantly possesses. There's the skittering, slow-tempo guitar and B-3 soul-blues of "Simple Things," and the New Orleans-style horns introducing "Until You Remember," which can distract the listener -- for a moment -- from experiencing these songs for what they are, until Tedeschi opens her mouth and lets the lyrics come up from her belly and drip from her lips and Trucks matches her emotion in his solo: these are love songs. We haven't heard any like them since Delaney & Bonnie! The Eastern tinge in Trucks' playing enters in the psychedelic blues "These Walls," tempered by the power of his wife's vocal. The nasty, funky, Hendrixian droning blues of "Learn How to Love" is textured by Kofi's funky clavinet and Wurlitzer. Speaking of funk, Tedeschi takes her own smoking guitar break in "Love Has Something Else to Say," a slamming, break-ridden funk tune that should have been the single. It combines hard Southern Stax-styled rhythm, soul, blues, and nasty-assed rock for a show stealer. Revelator is a roots record that sets a modern standard even as it draws its inspiration from the past. It's got everything a listener could want: grit, groove, raw, spiritual emotion, and expert-level musical truth.

Track Listing

1 Come See About Me Greenwell, Mattison, Tedeschi, Trucks 3:50
2 Don't Let Me Slide Tedeschi, Trucks 5:04
3 Midnight in Harlem Mattison, Trucks 5:53
4 Bound for Glory Mattison, Tedeschi, Trucks 5:31
5 Simple Things Tedeschi, Trucks 4:46
6 Until You Remember Tedeschi, Trucks 6:13
7 Ball and Chain Tedeschi, Trucks, Wood 3:57
8 These Walls Trucks 6:02
9 Learn How to Love Tedeschi, Trucks 4:25
10 Shrimp and Grits (Interlude) Burbridge, Greenwell, Tedeschi… 1:47
11 Love Has Something to Say Burbridge, Mattison, Trucks 5:57
12 Shelter/Ghost Light Burbridge, Greenwell, Harris, Trucks 7:58