first entire album I've heard by these guys
reminds me of Weezer
Thinkin' everything will remind me of Weezer for awhile
good album
best of the month. also the worst of the month

Grade - 1.7

released Apr 26th, 2011

from the album - I've Never Done Anything Like This - 2.5

from all music

The cheeky punk-pop outfit Bowling for Soup was formed in 1994 in Wichita Falls, TX, featuring lead vocalist/guitarist Jaret Reddick, guitarist/vocalist Chris Burney, bassist Erik Chandler, and drummer Gary Wiseman. However, the group didn't rise beyond local prominence until 1997, when a heavy touring schedule helped broaden their fan base and landed them opening spots for nationally prominent punk and ska bands. The following year, Bowling for Soup recorded a debut EP for the local FFROE label, titled Tell Me When to Whoa!; by this point, their base of operations had been moved to Denton, TX, the site of the label's headquarters as well. Later in 1998, Bowling for Soup issued their first full-length album, Rock on Honorable Ones!!!. Both it and its predecessor proved to be popular around the state (Honorable Ones sold over 10,000 copies alone) and the band ended up scoring a deal with Jive/Silvertone.

For their 2000 major-label debut, Let's Do It for Johnny!, Bowling for Soup re-recorded some of the best songs from their indie records and added a few new tracks, including lead single "The Bitch Song" and a cover of Bryan Adams' "Summer of '69." Two years later, the band released Drunk Enough to Dance, and nabbed a Grammy nomination for the single "Girl All the Bad Guys Want." Hangover You Don't Deserve followed in 2004, and BFS landed another hit single with "1985," which helped propel Hangover to number 37 on the Billboard 200. Bowling for Soup returned in 2005 with Goes to the Movies, on which they tackled various television and movie theme songs. The Great Burrito Extortion Case followed in the fall of 2006, spearheaded by the bouncy single "High School Never Ends," while Sorry for Partyin' -- the band's seventh studio effort -- arrived in late 2009.

Album Review

Hearkening back to the group’s earliest records -- then again, who’s to say they've ever moved that far away from their beginnings? - Fishin’ for Woos, Bowling for Soup’s 11th album, delivers as expected. There are hooks and humor, plenty of bratty, throwaway pop culture jokes, and anthems for the weekend, punctuated by the occasional strum-along, all digitally polished and propelled by stomp boxes from an earlier, simpler time. It’s not markedly different, better, or worse than previous BFS albums, with the main distinguishing factor being that there’s nothing with a killer hook along the lines of “1985,” but for the legions of faithful fans, more of the same isn’t necessarily a bad thing, and that’s certainly what Fishin’ for Woos offers.

Track Listing

1 Let's Pretend We're Not in Love Reddick 3:08
2 Girls in America Henrickson, Maloy, Reddick 3:08
3 S-S-S-Saturday Linus of Hollywood, Reddick 3:05
4 What About Us Reddick 3:58
5 Here's Your Freakin Song Linus of Hollywood, Reddick 3:55
6 This Ain't My Day Reddick 3:11
7 Smiley Face (It's All Good) Reddick 3:02
8 Turbulence Linus of Hollywood, Reddick 3:58
9 I've Never Done Anything Like This Linus of Hollywood, Reddick 3:15
10 Friends Chicks Guitars Reddick 3:42
11 Guard My Heart (2010) Chandler, Reddick 3:59
12 Graduation Trip Reddick 3:56