some of this is pop, some electro, but here I am again
don't think as a whole it would fit either place
that's why I've said previously, genre's should apply to songs, not albums or artists
Bjork vocals keep it interesting
not close to the buy mark though

Grade - 1.4

released Mar 15th, 2011

from the album - Sun Of A Gun - 1.5

Bio - from all music

Before an injury put an end to her dancing career, Nanna Øland Fabricius studied with the Royal Swedish Ballet as a teenager. Permanently sidelined by a fractured disk in her spine, she turned her focus to music instead. Fabricius had been raised in the outskirts of Copenhagen, Denmark, by a particularly musical set of parents -- her mother sang opera, while her father composed classical music -- but she took a different approach to her own songwriting, which drew heavily from dance-pop, R&B, and a year’s worth of tutelage at the University of Electronic Composition. Now operating under the stage name Oh Land, she began creating a sound that evoked a unique mix of Robyn, Feist, and Lily Allen. Her dance training came into play, too, allowing Oh Land to fill her early performances with choreography and theatrical flourishes. By 2008, she’d signed to a Danish label and released her debut EP, Fauna. One year later, she inked an international deal with Epic.

Working with Dan Carey, Dave McCracken, and Pharrell Williams, Oh Land spent much of 2010 working on her full-length debut. Her first single, “Sun of a Gun,” was released late that year, with a self-titled album following in March 2011.

Album Review - from slant

Oh Land's self-titled, major-label debut opens with a delicate orchestral flourish, an early indication that we might be in for something more than a bit precious. Given that Oh Land (nom de disc of Danish singer-songwriter Nanna Øland Fabricius) was a trained ballerina before she decided to embark on a music career following a back injury, this shouldn't come as a surprise. But then the song's "We Will Rock You" stomp kicks in and it's clear that Oh Land likes to play with contrast. Dualities abound on Oh Land: soft vs. hard, life vs. death, nature vs. supernature. It's all a little Black Swan, if you ask me.

That opening track, "Perfection," sets the bar high, both due to its title and its actual content, and Oh Land meets that challenge with several peaks across its landscape. The album's lead single, "Sun of a Gun," juxtaposes a driving 4/4 beat with accompanying madrigal-style vocal harmonies sitting in for synth loops and finds Oh Land likening a fading relationship to the orbit of the Earth around the sun. The subtle sounds of shackles can be heard rattling throughout "Break the Chain," on which she defies doctor's orders: "He said, 'Sorry, but you're never gonna dance again'/But my feet just keep me movin'." And though the spritely "White Nights" borders on twee, the sheer tenacity of its melody and the intricacy of its production make it an album highlight.

But Oh Land struggles to maintain such lofty heights. Oh Land's cinematic arrangements bring Janelle Monáe's ambitious approach to pop music to mind, but tracks like "Wolf & I" and "Lean" draw a bit too heavily from the trip-hop playbook (it doesn't help that Fabricius sounds a lot like Björk) and, however well-excecuted they may be, end up sounding derivative. More importantly, while a song like "Voodoo" could break Oh Land to a wider pop audience, it isn't anything Little Boots or La Roux aren't already doing.

Track Listing

1 Perfection Carey, Fabricius 4:58
2 Break the Chain Fabricius, McCracken 3:17
3 Sun of a Gun Fabricius, Harry 3:25
4 Voodoo Carey, Fabricius 2:51
5 Lean Carey, Fabricius 3:28
6 Wolf & I Beverly, Fabricius 4:37
7 Human Bogart, Fabricius 4:07
8 White Nights Fabricius, McCracken 3:45
9 Helicopter Fabricius, Mendez 3:31
10 We Turn It Up Fabricius, Fallon, McCracken 2:31
11 Rainbow Fabricius, McCracken 3:21