more of that shoegazer stuff
I don't know. I still haven't figured it out
nothing for me
vocals, didn't understand a word they said

Grade - 1.2

released Mar 8th, 2011

from the album - Imagine Hearts - 1.0

from all music


Ringo Deathstarr were originally formed in 2005 by singer and guitarist Elliott Frazier in his hometown of Beaumont, TX, but after moving to the more musically happening climes of Austin, he stabilized a final lineup with guitarist Renan McFarland, bassist Alex Gehring, and drummer Dustin Gaudet. Ringo Deathstarr's self-titled debut, a five-song EP, was released by the British label SVC Records in the fall of 2007. After a few more years of playing shows, shuffling members before settling on Gehring and drummer Daniel Coborn, and honing their sound, the band was signed by the U.K. label AC30 after making a big splash at their Reverence festival in 2010. The band's first album, Colour Trip, was released by AC30 in the winter of 2010, then was licensed by Sonic Unyon for release in Canada.

Album Review

Ringo Deathstarr may be based in Texas in the year 2011 but they sound like they were beamed into the future from London circa 1990. No doubt wearing bowl cuts and stripey shirts. Their debut album, Colour Trip, is more of a nostalgia trip as they delve deeply into shoegaze, dream pop, noise pop, and generally seem to be auditioning for a spot on the Creation roster between My Bloody Valentine and Ride. How you feel about the album probably has a lot to do with how you feel about nostalgia, imitation, and immersing yourself so totally in the style of your influences that you sound exactly like them. If you take a more positive stance, you can commend the trio’s skill at re-creation, and marvel at how “Chloe” is a perfect MBV-meets-Medicine copy, or how “You Don’t Listen” sounds like a lost Jesus & Mary Chain single. You could lose yourself in the warmly fuzzy guitars that flood the album from beginning to end, or let the honey-sweet vocals of bassist Alex Gehring wash away your nagging doubts. She sounds especially dreamy on the slow grooving “Other Things” and the warped dance track “Imagine Hearts.” Elliot Frazier's vocals are equally fine, whether he’s growling through noise-drenched rockers like “Chloe” or crooning like a Reid on swoony songs like “Tambourine Girl.” Pastiche or not, the album is incredibly catchy and hook-filled, and shows the band equally adept at rocking out loudly or drifting noisily off into the clouds. They invest their love of noisy pop with so much love, energy, and hummable tuneage, that it’s impossible to hate on them that much. Even if you take the uncharitable approach and call them mere copycats that are sucking the past dry, you can’t argue that fact. And if you look at the big picture and place them in the context of the large number of contemporaries mining the same rich seam of noise and melody, you’ll see that they come off rather well. And….if you really take a leap, you might even admit that when putting this album up against albums by some of the originators of the sound, it’s just as good if not better. It’ll be interesting to see where the band goes from here, but for right now, Colour Trip is definitely a trip worth taking.

Track Listing

1 Imagine Hearts Ringo Deathstarr 2:38
2 Do It Every Time Ringo Deathstarr 2:38
3 So High Ringo Deathstarr 2:01
4 Two Girls Ringo Deathstarr 2:58
5 Kaleidoscope Ringo Deathstarr 2:05
6 Day Dreamy Ringo Deathstarr 3:18
7 Tambourine Girl Ringo Deathstarr 3:38
8 Chloe Ringo Deathstarr 3:16
9 Never Drive Ringo Deathstarr 4:12
10 You Don't Listen Ringo Deathstarr 2:29
11 Other Things Ringo Deathstarr 3:27