Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Parts & Labor - Constant Future

  1. #1
    Grumpy Old Man Music Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Lancaster, Kentucky, United States

    Default Parts & Labor - Constant Future

    got old fast
    only the included clip passed the hear test

    Grade - 1.3

    released Mar 8th, 2011

    from the album - Rest - 2.0

    from all music


    Brooklyn's Parts & Labor create a boisterous delivery of electric guitars, sparse electronics, and rackety vocals. The experimental/noise rock collective came together in 2002 with keyboardist Dan Friel and bassist B.J. Warshaw. Friel and Warshaw originally met three years prior while the two were working at the Knitting Factory. Both had already played in various noise rock outfits before Parts & Labor, but it wasn't until the addition of drummer Jim Sykes that Parts & Labor finally felt like a solid band. They made their album debut with Groundswell in 2003. Once the band was ready to tour, Sykes left Parts & Labor to return to his native Chicago. Drummer Joel Saladino quickly stepped in, performing his first show just three days after joining the group. That same year, Parts & Labor also released Rise, Rise, Rise for Narnack. This experimental split release featured vocalist Tyondai Braxton and highlighted an elaborate, avant-garde spin on Parts & Labor's sound. In June 2004, Saladino left the band and formed Narchitect. Christopher R. Weingarten was named as his replacement, and a 7" release for Plastic followed in April 2005. Before recording their third album, Parts & Labor had already toured with the likes of TV on the Radio, Deerhoof, Melt Banana, Lightning Bolt, Enon, and Oneida. Friel and Warshaw also founded Cardboard Records, home to Pterodactyl, Big Bear, and Aa. The band got back to its noise rock roots for Stay Afraid (2006), a roisterous first release for Jagjaguwar/Brah. Mapmaker followed in 2007. In 2008, Parts & Labor released Escapers 2: Grind Pop, as well as Receivers. After that experimental period, the band focused on a more solid effort, releasing the highly cohesive Constant Future in 2011.

    Album Review

    Like a big hug or a hand on your shoulder at just the right moment, Parts & Labor capture a sound that can only be described as reassuring on Constant Future. Whether it comes from the fuzzy warmth of the synthesizers that wrap you up like a blanket or the all-encompassing atmospherics of the vocals, thereís something about the Brooklyn bandís brand of noise pop that just feels like itís there for you, letting you know that everything will be all right while it prepares a nice hot cup of tea to fix your frayed nerves. This isnít to say, however, that the music lacks direction. Constant Future isnít a sprawling post-rock epic or a collection of esoteric soundscapes, but is instead an incredibly tight and focused collection of songs that highlight mood and motion rather than being too far out, offering a rich sonic depth without ever feeling like itís meandering around and playing in the dirt while the running time gets longer and longer, giving the album a kinetic quality that is constantly propelling the album forward. This consistency adds to the album's escapist qualities, allowing the listener simply to get lost in the little world that Parts & Labor create for themselves, a world where drums are thumping and bass-heavy synths are not only recommended but essential, a feeling thatís helped along in no small part by the production work of sonic auteur Dave Fridmann, whose sense of spaciousness can be easily felt in the mix of songs like ďPure AnnihilationĒ and ďWithout a Seed.Ē While it may not be the bandís most ambitious or experimental work, Constant Future is a work of cohesive beauty, showing a real sense of vision in its execution that more than makes up for the lack of any gimmicks added in for artís sake.

    Track Listing

    1 Fake Names 4:07
    2 Outnumbered 2:54
    3 Constant Future 2:59
    4 A Thousand Roads 4:15
    5 Rest 3:07
    6 Pure Annihilation 2:26
    7 Skin and Bones 4:26
    8 Echo Chamber 2:43
    9 Without a Seed 2:39
    10 Bright White 2:19
    11 Hurricane 3:18
    12 Never Changer 4:09
    ďA man only learns in two ways, one by reading, and the other by association with smarter people.Ē
    Will Rogers

  2. #2


    Having listened to nearly all tracks before album's release, I found them amazing and inspiring - the array of emotions which unfortunately evaporated a little with the entire album. Anyway, if someone had never heard about the band, there's a high chance you would find Constant Future tremendous - it is a slaphappy rush, unique in its mood.
    Last edited by didgeridoo; 25-05-2011 at 07:33.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts