three good tracks on here for me
not enough to outweigh the bad ones

Grade - 1.4

released Mar 1st, 2011

from the album - Far Away - 1.0

from all music


Shortly after the end of her gold-selling R&B act Floetry, singer, songwriter, and producer Marsha Ambrosius -- whose biggest claim to fame as a writer is Michael Jackson's Top 20 hit “Butterflies” -- signed with Dr. Dre's Aftermath label. Nothing came from the short-lived alliance. However, Ambrosius eventually signed with J Records, where she finally released her first official solo album -- Late Nights & Early Mornings -- in 2011. While in creative limbo, she was nonetheless active, issuing a handful of mixtapes and collaborating with Alicia Keys (“Go Ahead”), Mario (“Why"), Jazmine Sullivan (“Music [All I Need]”), Jamie Foxx (“Freak’in Me”), and Wale (“Diary”).

Album Review

Just a few months after her Floetry partner, Natalie Stewart, released Floetic Soul, Marsha Ambrosius issued her own solo album. In a way, Late Nights & Early Mornings picks up where 2005’s Flo’Ology, left off, as much of it is in the vein of that album’s slow, steamed-up songs like “Lay Down” and “Imagination.” Ambrosius makes the point early, opening the album with a pair of stellar modern quiet storm numbers in the bare “With You” (written with Alicia Keys) and the 1984-1985 Prince-channeling title song (produced and co-written by Rich Harrison). The song that follows, “Hope She Cheats on You (With a Basketball Player),” temporarily shifts the tone with some cleverly spiteful language over Ambrosius' sparkling production. Two nice surprises come with a deadly, faithful cover of Portishead’s “Sour Times” and a bright version of “Butterflies,” the song she and Andre Harris wrote for Michael Jackson. Those who could not get into the Floetry albums due to Ambrosius' occasionally tremulous delivery should have no problem this time. The characteristic is no distraction -- put to use with less frequency and typically in service to the song, not purely for show.

Track Listing

1 Anticipation (Intro) Ambrosius 1:28
2 With You Ambrosius, Keys 5:09
3 Late Nights & Early Mornings Ambrosius, Harrison 3:27
4 Hope She Cheats on You (Witha Basketball Player) Ambrosius, Canei Finch 4:03
5 Far Away Ambrosius, Dozier, Holland, Holland… 7:16
6 Lose Myself Hill 5:03
7 Your Hands Ambrosius, Davis, Harris 3:29
8 I Want You to Stay Ambrosius 3:49
9 Sour Times Barrow, Brooks, Gibbons, Schifrin… 3:20
10 Tears Ambrosius, Whitfield 2:57
11 Chasing Clouds Ambrosius, Perry 3:45
12 The Break Up Song Ambrosius 3:28
13 Butterflies Ambrosius 4:11