Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Deerhoof - Deerhoof Vs. Evil

  1. #1
    Grumpy Old Man Music Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Lancaster, Kentucky, United States

    Default Deerhoof - Deerhoof Vs. Evil

    That was really bad
    having Yoko flashbacks
    not one thing on there I would torture myself with again

    Grade 1.0

    released Jan 18th, 2011

    from the album - Super Duper Rescue Heads - 1.0

    from all music


    By turns cuddly and chaotic, San Francisco's Deerhoof mix noise, sugary melodies, and an experimental spirit into sweetly challenging and utterly distinctive music. The group began as the brainchild of guitarist Rob Fisk and drummer/keyboardist Greg Saunier in 1994; early releases, such as the 1995 7"s Return of the Woods M'Lady and For Those of Us on Foot, had a more traditionally harsh, no wave-inspired sound, though they also included the quirky tendencies that dominated their later efforts. Vocalist/bassist Satomi Matsuzaki joined the group in time for 1996's self-titled double 7" on Menlo Park, but other members passed through Deerhoof, including Chris Cooper of Angst Hase Pfeffer Nase. The following year they released their full-length debut, The Man, the King, the Girl, on Kill Rock Stars and the Come See the Duck 7" on Banano a year later.

    Fisk left Deerhoof after 1999's Holdy Paws, an experiment that saw the band trying to write songs that favored composition over individual sounds, and pursued similar ideas in his solo work and in Badgerlore. Halfbird, which was recorded before Fisk departed, was released in 2001, after John Dieterich was recruited as Deerhoof's new guitarist. That year the group also released the My Pal Foot Foot 7", a cover of the legendary Shaggs song that also appeared on the Better Than the Beatles tribute. In 2002, the group released the critically acclaimed Reveille; 2003's Apple O' followed soon after, and also featured auxiliary guitarist Chris Cohen. Their fifth album, the much more cohesive and focused Milk Man, appeared in spring 2004. The following year was another busy one for the band: not only did they embark on tours of the U.S., Europe, and Japan, but they released the Green Cosmos EP, the full-length Runners Four, and a Deerhoof tribute album that was only available on the band's website.

    In 2006, the group toured with the Flaming Lips, the Fiery Furnaces, and Mary Timony, among others. That spring, Cohen left Deerhoof to concentrate on the Curtains, and that fall, a ballet based on Milk Man was performed in North Haven, ME. During that time, the band recorded its own songs and collaborated with composer Ed Shearmur on the music for Dedication, a film directed by Justin Theroux. The concise yet eclectic Friend Opportunity arrived in early 2007. Guitarist Ed Rodriguez joined the band in early 2008, and played on that year's Offend Maggie; prior to the album's release that fall, the band gave away one of its songs, "Fresh Born," as sheet music so fans could make their own versions of the song. Starting in 2010, Deerhoof began leaking songs from their next album on different media outlets, creating a kind of musical scavenger hunt for fans leading up to the 2011 release of their tenth studio album, Deerhoof Vs. Evil.

    Album Review

    Deerhoof previewed Deerhoof vs. Evil by leaking the album one track at a time to websites all over the world -- a quirky and confident move, as well as a very Deerhoof one: though the acclaim surrounding the band has grown with virtually every album, Deerhoof haven’t sacrificed any of their avant-garde leanings for their high profile. The band returns, two and a half years after the all-encompassing Offend Maggie!, with its weirdest, poppiest, and most concise set of songs since Friend Opportunity -- it’s almost as if Deerhoof used that time to whittle the album down to only the most striking and catchiest bits. Deerhoof vs. Evil plays with distinct sonic motifs, contrasting its crystalline melodies with dense squalls of noise and expressive percussion that hark back to the band’s earliest days. “Qui Dorn, Només Somia” hitches busy, intricate playing to some of Satomi Matsuzaki's sweetest vocals, while “Behold a Marvel in the Darkness” pits her musings on love against a flotilla of guitars. Meanwhile, the dazzling jumble that is “Hey I Can” boasts rapid-fire melodies that fall somewhere between gamelan and children’s show music, and “C’Moon"'s percussion workout makes it the album's most experimental moment. As the title suggests, Deerhoof vs. Evil has plenty of struggle in its songs, but while Deerhoof are essentially good, they’ll fight the bad guys by any means necessary -- and with lots of wit: “Hello, you lucky so and so,” Matsuzaki sings as she saves the day on “Super Duper Rescue Heads!,” arguably the album’s poppiest track until it takes a detour into a forest of psychedelic noise. She and the rest of the band channel their inner Robin Hoods on “I Did Crimes for You,” and when Matsuzaki says “This is a stickup,” it has to be the cutest holdup ever. “Secret Mobilization” struts in on funky Rhodes -- adding to the album’s ‘70s vibe -- but comes stomping back in as arena rock as Matsuzaki unleashes her battle cry. The album also leaves room for Deerhoof’s subtler side, particularly on the lovely “No One Asked to Dance,” which glides on Spanish guitar and harpsichords, and the interstellar Latin pop of “Must Fight Current.” “Let’s Dance the Jet” might be Deerhoof vs. Evil's most intriguing track, a charmingly kitschy instrumental that sounds like it was stolen from the soundtrack of a ‘60s or ‘70s cult movie. It’s proof that, once again, Deerhoof can craft something fresh and different after so many albums. In their world, evil and boredom are practically the same thing, and Deerhoof vs. Evil triumphs against both.

    Track Listing

    1 Qui Dorm, Només Somia Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 3:12
    2 Behold a Marvel in the Darkness Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 3:29
    3 The Merry Barracks Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 3:31
    4 No One Asked to Dance Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 2:16
    5 Let's Dance the Jet Theodorakis 1:36
    6 Super Duper Rescue Heads! Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 2:35
    7 Must Fight Current Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 2:53
    8 Secret Mobilization Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 3:03
    9 Hey I Can Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 2:13
    10 C'Moon Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 2:07
    11 I Did Crimes for You Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 3:09
    12 Almost Everyone, Almost Always Dieterich, Matsuzaki, Rodriguez… 2:41
    “A man only learns in two ways, one by reading, and the other by association with smarter people.”
    Will Rogers

  2. #2


    who's review should i take note of? Allmusic or MH?...think i'll stick with MH!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts