Amazing what they call country, but whatever.
Liked 5 tracks here, but just misses the buy mark from the pop side.
nice voices

Grade 1.6

released Jan 11th, 2011

from the album - Just By Being You (Halo And Wings) - grade 2.0

from all music


A country singing duo who took the 21st century path of winning a television talent show (Can You Duet) to break into the public eye, Steel Magnolia consist of Meghan Linsey and Joshua Scott Jones. A native of Ponchatoula, LA, Linsey formed the duo with Jones, her boyfriend, whom she met while serving as a karaoke host in a Nashville bar. Linsey and Jones were contestants for the second season of Can You Duet, and ended up winning the competition, using the exposure to sign with Big Machine Records, which released a debut single by the duo, “Keep on Lovin’ You,” in August of 2009. A second single, “Just by Being You (Halo and Wings),” followed almost a year later in July of 2010 -- in between the duo released a self-titled EP early in 2010, followed by a slew of singles including the digital download-only singles, "Just By Being You," "It's Christmas Time," and "Last Night Again." On January 4, 2011, Steel Magnolia were nominated for an Association Of Country Music (ACM) award in the Best New Duo Or Group category; their self-titled debut album appeared a week later.

Album Review

Steel Magnolia, the duo comprised of singer/songwriters Meghan Linsey and Joshua Scott Jones, gained Nashville's attention when they won the second season of CMT's television program, Can You Duet? Their debut single, "Keep on Lovin' You," slowly inched up the country charts and hit number five. They subsequently released an EP and two other download-only singles in 2009 and 2010. Their self-titled album -- issued a week after they were nominated in the "best new group or duo" category by ACM -- contains not only their hit, but the studio tracks from their EP -- "Edge of Goodbye," "Ooh La La," and "Just by Being You (Halos and Wings)," and the subsequent single "Last Night Again." Steel Magnolia are an able, energetic, vocally savvy country pop act, and stress the word "pop" in that phrase. Other than a banjo here and a fiddle or pedal steel there, this may be what passes for country music in the 21st century, but simply put, it's '80s-styled pop with different production. Dann Huff, who not only produced the set but plays all over it, guided the duo to turn in a by-the-numbers, radio-friendly disc that will offend no one and is pleasant as background noise, but leaves the question of what distinguishes it from countless others unanswered. Other than "Keep on Lovin' You," the most notable things here are the opener "Ooh La La," a sassy, rockist seduction song, and a reading of Keith Urban's "Homespun Love" (written while he was still with the Range) near the very end of the album. The latter, with acoustic slide guitars melded to crunchy electrics, a funky, shuffling backbeat, and the contrasting contralto and baritone voices of Linsey and Jones in call-and-response and chorus formulations, add a sense of playfulness and swagger to the original that wasn't there before. The closer, "Glass Houses," written by Jones, is a solid, old-school country waltz with a lilting three-chord structure, sweet mandolin and fiddle fills, and old-school harmonies. It's a weeper that actually resonates with genuine emotion (as opposed to the insipid, "Just by Being You (Halos and Wings)." The rest of this album is basically harmless fodder to re-shop the singles and give the act product to tour behind.

Track Listing

1 Ooh La La Jones, Linsey 3:28
2 Keep on Lovin' You Stapleton, Willmon 3:02
3 Just by Being You (Halo and Wings) Cameron, Conroy 4:00
4 Edge of Goodbye Jones, Linsey, Moriva 4:25
5 Bulletproof McKenna, Tompkins 3:49
6 Not Tonight Lindsey, Stevens, West 4:15
7 Last Night Again Jones, Lindsey, Linsey 3:54
8 Without You Jones, Linsey, Preston 3:27
9 Rainbow Eze, Henriksen, Jones, Linsey 4:30
10 Eggs Over Easy Hamulak, Jones, Linsey 3:55
11 Homespun Love Rust, Urban 3:18
12 Glass Houses Jones 4:05