some of this was pretty good
borderline love track for Killer
a few plays would do it

Grade - 1.7

released Dec 7th, 2010

from the album - Rhythm Of Love - grade 2.0

from all music


Hailing from the suburbs of Chicago, the punk-pop outfit Plain White T's began taking shape in 1997, a full ten years before the acoustic ballad "Hey There Delilah" made them Grammy-nominated stars. Lead singer Tom Higgenson was originally fascinated with the drums, having served as the percussionist for various rock bands during high school. One such band was Harvey's Daughter, whose lineup also featured bass player Ken Fletcher. Although the group disbanded, the two remained friends and quickly launched a different band, with Higgenson taking over lead duties as songwriter and singer. Drummer Dave Tirio also joined the new lineup, bringing Plain White T's to fruition during the fall of 1997.

Performances in various Chicago clubs earned the band a small but devout following. In the summer of 1999, Higgenson was nearly killed in a car accident; the crash resulted in a ruptured kidney and lacerated lung. However, the event also left him with a newfound dedication to songwriting, and the band began making quick progress as a result, self-releasing Come on Over in 2001 and signing with Fearless Records for the release of Stop in 2002. Although plagued by lineup shifts during the supporting tour, Plain White T's still found time to record All That We Needed, which hit shelves in early 2005. By that point, the band's roster had solidified with a lineup comprised of vocalist Higgenson, guitarists Tirio and Tim Lopez, drummer De'Mar Hamilton, and bassist Mike Retondo. The band then participated in the 2005 Take Action tour alongside groups like Sugarcult and Head Automatica before joining up with Motion City Soundtrack for tour dates in 2006. The enhanced EP Hey There Delilah was released that May, containing versions of the titular ballad (originally issued on All That We Needed), along with four new songs and music videos.

The band's work ethic and promising songcraft earned Plain White T's a new contract with Hollywood Records, and Every Second Counts, their hook-laden debut for the label, appeared in September 2006. The band returned to the road soon after, but fortunes improved as "Hey There Delilah" gathered steam on radio stations across the U.S. By the following summer, the song had topped the charts in ten different countries and helped jump-start sales of Every Second Counts (which, incidentally, only featured "Hey There Delilah" in enhanced versions of the record). Plain White T's received two Grammy nominations for the song, and the band returned in 2008 with Big Bad World -- a return-to-form effort featuring the band's usual mix of spunky energy and pop/rock craft.

In 2010, Plain White T's released the song "The Rhythm of Love," featuring lead vocals from guitarist Tim Lopez. Built upon a laid-back acoustic sound, it was the first single from the band's sixth studio album, The Wonders of the Younger, which was released that December.

Album Review

When Big Bad World hit stores in 2008, Plain White T’s were still reeling from the unexpected success of “Hey There Delilah.” To avoid being pigeonholed, they wound up steering clear of everything that made “Delilah” a hit, doing away with acoustic ballads and emphasizing loud, zippy pop songs instead. Released two years later, The Wonders of the Younger doesn’t have such a noticeable chip on its shoulder. Plain White T’s sound more comfortable this time around, never relying exclusively on the midtempo songwriting that made them famous but hardly shying away from it, either. They’ve learned to be more adventurous, too, shifting frontman duties on the album’s best song -- “Rhythm of Love,” an acoustic, beach-worthy pop tune with lead vocals by guitarist Tim Lopez -- and decorating the rest of the track list with strings (“Last Breath”), electronics (“Map of the World”), cabaret-style vocal harmonies (“Welcome to Mystery”), and bouncing piano (“Boomerang”). Holding the whole thing together is Tom Higgenson’s love for a good melody; he makes every line sound like a chorus, and The Wonders of the Younger is almost aggressively tuneful as a result, with enough quirks thrown into the mix to keep things from getting too sugary. As far as pop albums go, this one strikes a rare balance between familiarity and novelty.

Track Listing

1 Irrational Anthem Dodd, Higgenson, Watts 3:36
2 Boomerang Higgenson, Smith 2:57
3 Welcome to Mystery Higgenson, Tompkins 4:26
4 Rhythm of Love Lopez 3:20
5 Map of the World Feldmann, Higgenson 3:37
6 Killer Dodson, Higgenson 2:37
7 Last Breath Feldmann, Higgenson 3:46
8 Broken Record Higgenson, Malloy, Tompkins 3:30
9 Our Song Higgenson 3:15
10 Airplane Higgenson, Retondo 2:18
11 Cirque Dans la Rue Dodson, Higgenson 3:56
12 Body Parts Lopez 3:35
13 Make It Up as You Go Higgenson, Tirio 3:44
14 Wonders of the Younger Higgenson, McConnell 5:10