not bad when he sticks to straight r&b, which is rare

Grade - 1.4

released Nov 30th, 2010

from the album - Sometimes I Cry - grade 1.5

from all music


Eric Benét is a contemporary R&B singer with mild hip-hop and strong adult contemporary influences. As a teenager, he performed in a family vocal group (appropriately named Benét) with his sister and cousin. The group signed with Capitol Records and released an eponymous album in 1992 that largely went unnoticed. Eric blazed his own trail as a solo artist shortly afterward, signing to Warner Bros. and releasing his debut album, True to Myself, in the fall of 1996. A Day in the Life followed in 1999; its first single, a cover of Toto's "Georgy Porgy," was a moderate radio hit, but it was the album's second single, "Spend My Life with You" (featuring Tamia), that helped put Eric Benét on the map. "Spend My Life with You" went to number one on the R&B charts, was certified gold, and received a nomination for the 2000 Grammy Award for Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group. Benét's popularity was on the rise, and A Day In the Life went on to earn a Soul Train Music Award for Best R&B/Soul Album Male.

During this time, Benét headed into the studio to work on Earth, Wind & Fire's 30th anniversary CD. He also struck up a romance with actress Halle Berry, whom he married in 2001. Perhaps inspired by his wife, Benét caught the acting bug and landed a recurring role on WB's For Your Love before making his feature film debut in Mariah Carey's flashy showbiz drama,Glitter, in 2001. Berry and Benét separated in 2004, a year before the singer released his third album, Hurricane. Benét then returned home to Milwaukee, WI, for the recording of Love & Life, which arrived in September 2008 and garnered two additional Grammy nominations.

Album Review

Lost in Time is an appropriate title for Eric Benét’s fifth album: it’s designed to be deliberately out of time, a tribute to the ‘70s soul the singer grew up loving. Benét has never strayed too far from this template but on Lost in Time it’s possible to draw a family tree for each song, sometimes tracing back roots to specific songs: “Paid” grows out of “Papa Was a Rolling Stone”; “Feel Good” has the chord progression of “The Best of My Love.” When Benét isn’t saluting individual hits, he’s luxuriating in the sounds of Marvin, Prince, Stevie, and Gamble & Huff, replicating the textures of classic smooth soul, perhaps to the detriment of the melodies. Although it would be nice if the songs hooked deeply, sticking around in the brain after they’re finished playing, Benét has wound up with a seductive pastiche with Lost in Time, the kind of record that might not be deep but shimmers pleasingly on the surface.

Track Listing

1 Never Want to Live Without You Benet, Nash 4:29
2 Feel Good Benet, Nash 3:47
3 Sometimes I Cry Benet, Nash 5:08
4 Always a Reason Benet, Nash 4:12
5 Paid Benet, Nash 4:48
6 Take It Benet, Johnson, McVicker, Nash, Shaw 6:15
7 Stir It Up Benet, Nash, Posey 4:47
8 Summer Love Benet, Nash 4:50
9 Lost in Time Benet, Nash 3:45
10 Good Life Benet, Nash 4:07
11 Something's Wrong Benet, Nash, Posey 5:35