Thread: Eminem - Beginning to 2000.

Post Eminem - Beginning to 2000.

Alright, this is just one of the many artists I have a lot of knowledge about so I'll start with probably the most heard of one. Second post on this forum, so should be fun

Just a warning. Some of the videos in the links do contain explicit language. I marked the ones that do with a *.

: First off he was born in 1972 and his real name is Marshal Mathers. While Eminem did not become a big name until 1999, he was definitely taking part in rapping and hip-hop during the 80's and earlier 90's. According to him, he first decided to get into hip-hop in 1984 when he was given the Beastie Boys album as a gift. Until 1995, he was a member of the group bassiment productions. In 1995 they changed their name to Soul Intent and he released a very good song (imo) Biterphobia. Song's like these were underground however and never saw huge popularity. Interesting enough, many of Eminem's best songs are not singles and do not get played on the radio. Another interesting piece of information is that his style changes almost every album. Very few other artists have had the almost consistent success in one decade that he has had.

Infinite and Slim Shady EP: In 1996 he released his first album Infinite which included 10 songs and 1 skit. Unfortunately the album did not sell well and was criticized as being too much like other artists. The content of the album does not fall short though! If you are a fan of early 90s beats and calmer hip-hop, I would check this out. It sounds nothing like the Eminem you hear on the radio today and the quality of lyrics is just as good. For a starter song I would check out Infinite or It's Okay.