some decent raps, but severely lacking on the music side

Grade - 1.1

released Nov 16th, 2010

from the album - Drumma Bass - grade - 1.0

from all music


The first MC of significance to be supported by Swizz Beatz's J-affiliated Full Surface label, Cassidy is a fresh-faced Philadelphian who gained a lot of attention as a battle rapper -- with a successful bout against Freeway as one of the first feathers in his cap. People who had been following him through several mixtape appearances were more than a little surprised by the angle taken on his first solo single, "Hotel." Rather than build on his street credibility, Cassidy used the song -- with vocal hooks courtesy of R. Kelly -- to establish himself as an MC who could just deliver a fluffy chart-aimed hit with equal ease. "Hotel" more or less piggybacked Chingy's "Holidae In" as a like-themed tune into the upper reaches of the singles charts, all the while being as light musically as the same rapper's "One Call Away." Split Personality, Cassidy's debut album, arrived just as "Hotel" was peaking, in March of 2004, and debuted at the number two spot on the Billboard album chart. The following year, the MC returned with the harder I'm a Hustla, which was released roughly two weeks after he was charged with a murder that took place in his Philadelphia neighborhood. The extra attention had no negative effect on his career, with 2007's B.A.R.S.: The Barry Adrian Reese Story bowing in the Top Ten of the Billboard album chart; its lead single, "My Drink 'N My Two Step" (also produced by Swizz Beatz), peaked at number 11 on the Hot R&B/Hip Hop chart.

Track Listing

With the release of his 2007 effort B.A.R.S.: The Barry Adrian Reese Story, Cassidy’s iffy relationship with the album format was resolved, with both jail time served and a near death experience inspiring some of his best lyrics to date. While C.A.S.H. -- and that stands for Cass Always Stays Hard -- is not nearly as focused as B.A.R.S., it’s his first satisfying effort without a true concept, although in many ways, it does continue the story. The previously troubled rapper opens the album with ease, reading off his list of imaginary rap battles -- interesting stuff like Rick Ross vs. Fat Joe or Common vs. Mos Def -- over a small, crooked beat from producer Bink. Followed up by the good-time throwback track “Paper Up,” the album feels like pure fire, but from here on in, the average listener must edit out some redundant numbers and lesser cuts, keeping the collaborations with the Game and reggae singer Junior Reid, along with the top-notch single “Drumma Bass.” Another one sure to stick is the Redman-like “Awww S****” where producer Stoopid on da Beat lives up to his dope name with what must be a Violent Femmes sample, and while it’s really good, “Girl Like Her” with Mya is still a toss-up, being a puppy love-crossover cut on an album that promises to “Stay Hard.” Still, this uneven effort should keep fans happy as they get to hear Cassidy delivering the goods without all the turmoil.

Track Listing

1 Face 2 Face 4:47
2 Paper Up 4:28
3 Monsta Muzik 3:10
4 One Shot 3:27
5 All Day All Night 3:25
6 Girl Like Her 3:49
7 Drumma Bass 3:23
8 Hate Me or Love Me 4:17
9 High Off Life 4:07
10 Awww S**** 4:27
11 I'm a G Boy 6:24
12 She Addicted 4:20
13 Peace 5:14
14 Music In My Blood 2:53