I don't know, screamo pop metal I guess. All yours.

Grade - 1.2

released Oct 26th, 2010

from the album - New Years Eve - Grade 1.0


from all music


Comprised of vocalist James "Buddy" Nielsen, guitarists Dave Miller and Garrett Zablocki, bassist Michael Glita (former percussionist for Tokyo Rose), and drummer Dan Trapp, the New Jersey outfit Senses Fail developed a slick amalgam of post-hardcore chuggery and emo heartbreak that recalled such fellow New Jersey-based groups as Saves the Day. Formed in 2002 in Bergen County, Senses Fail quickly issued a debut EP and began gigging regularly while maintaining a thriving Internet presence. Drive-Thru Records took notice and signed the group in late 2002. A revamped version of the From the Depths of Dreams EP appeared in April 2003; it featured improved sound, one new song, and an acoustic version of the track "Ground Folds." A tour with the Used wrapped up the year in successful fashion, while From the Depths of Dreams cracked the Billboard 200 and helped poise Senses Fail for a commercial breakthrough.

After more heavy touring and a bit of label drama, 2004's Let It Enfold You -- named after a Charles Bukowski poem -- was released that September through Vagrant/Drive-Thru; a deluxe edition with bonus tracks arrived one year later. The band also contributed a cover of Suicidal Tendencies' "Institutionalized" for 2005's Tony Hawk's American Wasteland video game soundtrack. Relentless touring persisted before the bandmates began work on their sophomore effort, which saw Senses Fail hitting the studio in May 2006 with producer Brian McTernan (Thrice, Cave In) and a new guitarist, Heath Saraceno (the former Midtown member wound up permanently replacing Miller, who'd previously left the group). A main-stage spot on the American Warped Tour helped the revised band hone its chops, as did a stint with the Taste of Chaos tour in the U.K. Both appearances led up to the release of the explosive Still Searching, which deemphasized the band's screaming vocals in favor of an energetic, emo-tinged sound. Bassist Mike Glita left the lineup one year later, and Hot Water Music's Jason Black climbed aboard as a temporary replacement during the recording of Life Is Not a Waiting Room, which arrived in October 2008.

Album Review from alter the press

Now on to their fourth full-length, Senses Fail return with 'The Fire'; eleven tracks of passion-filled, aggressive US post-hardcore with the opening title-track setting the standard early on. Driving guitars back up Buddy Nielsen's soaring vocals, something that the band continue to produce release after release. Nevertheless its an impressive start, with an overall sound that has urgency, and demands your attention with the leading line of 'Its ok to feel lost."

Throughout it comes apparent that Nielsen and company are more aggressive this time round, with 'New Year's Eve' being an early example. "Screamo" vocals dominate the verse before Nielsen brings a strong, melodic chorus that structurally works well All the while Dan Trapp's pounding guitar work battles with Garrett Zablocki's fierce guitar.

Whereas 'Safe House' and 'Landslide' sees the band sticking to their origins; steady paced alt-rock, that the band has somewhat perfected throughout the years. The latter has the usual, hooky chorus backed by the bands fierce and driving guitars.

By the time 'Headed West' and 'Nero' comes, the band are in their stride and some might say, their comfort zone as they fail to develop their sound from previous releases. For the most part musically Senses Fail sound nearly exactly the same as they did six years ago with 'Let It Enfold You'. Therefore tracks like 'Headed West' and 'Nero' fail to produce a decent reaction.

Whilst Senses Fail have proved to be consistent, 'The Fire' just about falls into being labelled as being "safe". Whilst the more fiery tracks like 'Lifeboats' and 'The Fire' gives depth to the bands sound and promise, but ultimately its a case of stick with what you know. However it is an improvement on 2008's 'Life Is Not a Waiting Room', as this time round the band are structurally stronger and are able to keep the listeners attention.

Track Listing

1 The Fire Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:44
2 Saint Anthony Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:15
3 New Year's Eve Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:14
4 Safe House Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:18
5 Coward Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:30
6 Landslide Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:45
7 Headed West Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:12
8 Lifeboats Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:32
9 Nero Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:49
10 Irish Eyes Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:23
11 Hold On Nielsen, Senses Fail 3:51