released Oct 5th, 2010

from the album - Let's Be Friends

from allmusic


The younger sibling of former child actor Haley Joel Osment, actress/vocalist Emily Osment launched her career at a young age, having landed a role in the 1999 film The Secret Life of Girls when she was only seven years old. The Los Angeles native furthered her career by also appearing in Spy Kids 2: The Island of Lost Dreams, Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over, and the Disney Channel series Hannah Montana, where she enjoyed a recurring role as Lily Truscott. Osment also tried her hand at singing, kicking off that aspect of her career by performing alongside Billy Ray Cyrus on his 2007 album Home at Last and contributing a song to the soundtrack of R.L. Stine's The Haunting Hour: Don't Think About It, in which she also starred.

After making appearances on several Disney compilations, she began voicing a desire to tackle more rock-influenced music, and writing sessions with members of Eve 6 and Plain White T's helped her compile enough material for her debut EP, 2009's All the Right Wrongs. Osment switched directions for her full-length debut, though, leaving rock music behind and embracing electronic dance-pop on 2010's Fight or Flight.

Album Review

After getting her start on the Hannah Montana show, actress Emily Osment became the latest in a long line of Disney starlets to launch a music career. She made her debut with 2009’s All the Right Wrongs, a spunky (if spotty) EP featuring Avril-influenced chick rock and distribution by Wind Up Records. Partnering with Wind Up, a label known for its hard rock acts, gave Osment something that most Disney girls lack: a semblance of street cred. So it’s a bit confusing to hear the 18-year-old rocker-in-training switch gears on her Fight or Flight, which focuses on electronic dance-pop instead. Out with the guitars; in with the synthesizers. Out with the punky lyrics; in with the double entendres. Fight or Flight sounds like Katy Perry with a sneer, with a sexual undercurrent that runs beneath every song and bubbles to the surface quite often. “Get Yer Yah-Yah-s Out” is a club anthem about… well… getting one’s yah-yah’s out at a club, and lead single “Let’s Be Friends” details Osment’s desire to get busy with a stranger (“Don’t you wanna know what it would feel like?/Let’s be friends so we can make out/You’re so hot, let me show you around”). This new character — the hormone-crazed dancing queen — is an altogether different role from the one Osment played on All the Right Wrongs, where she flexed her teenaged punk rock muscles by hurling insults at the homecoming queen. She pulls off the transformation fairly well, due in no small part to the fact that she co-wrote every song here, and she sings circles around Disney contemporaries like Demi Lovato and Miley Cyrus. Still, there’s a sense that Osment is just trading one form of rebellion for another.

Track Listing

1 Lovesick Gad, Osment, Robbins 3:24
2 Get Yer Yah-Yah's Out Gamson, Leiber, Osment ... 2:55
3 1-800 Clap Your Hands (The Water Is Rising) Osment, Schlesinger 3:33
4 Marisol Osment, Schlesinger 4:14
5 The Cycle Fuhrmann, Osment 2:31
6 All the Boys Want Aniello, Bair, Osment 2:18
7 Double Talk Osment, Schlesinger 2:52
8 Truth or Dare Bair, Osment 3:02
9 Let's Be Friends Gad, Osment, Perkins 3:00
10 You Get Me Through Osment, Schlesinger 3:46
11 Gotta Believe in Something Fuhrmann, Hooper, Osment 3:17