released Sept 21st, 2010

from the album - Tonight My Baby's Coming Home

from allmusic


Bluegrass vocalist and fiddler Rhonda Vincent began her professional music career at the age of five, playing drums with her family's band, the Sally Mountain Show. She picked up the mandolin at eight and the fiddle at ten, performing with the family band at festivals on weekends. After appearing on TNN's nationally televised You Can Be a Star program in her mid-twenties, Vincent struck out on her own, singing with the Grand Ole Opry's Jim Ed Brown, eventually leading to a deal with Rebel Records. Her work with Brown and her Rebel recordings caught the attention of Giant Nashville's president, James Stroud, who signed Vincent to record two contemporary country albums. After her time at Giant, she moved to Rounder Records, and demonstrated her passion for the traditional music she grew up with, on Back Home Again. A car accident in December 1999 kept her from a planned trip to Nashville for auditions, so she hired her band (unusually named the Rage) through the Internet. Rhonda Vincent and the Rage have been gaining popularity at bluegrass festivals since their formation, playing hard-driving, high-energy contemporary bluegrass music. Her 2001 album The Storm Still Rages was nominated for seven International Bluegrass Music Association awards, including Female Vocalist of the Year, while fiddle player Michael Cleveland and banjo player Tom Adams earned nominations in their respective instrumental categories. A three-year unbroken string of IBMA Female Vocalist of the Year awards led to the 2003 release of One Step Ahead, another tour, and another well-deserved showering of critical praise. Recorded in front of a hometown crowd in St. Louis, Ragin' Live arrived in 2005, followed by All American Bluegrass Girl in 2006, Good Thing Going in 2008, and Destination Life in 2009.

Album Review

Bluegrass veteran Rhonda Vincent parted ways with Rounder after 2009’s Destination Life, choosing the relative freedom of her own label, studio, and production team to churn out her 2010 independent follow-up, Taken. Deftly straddling the line between contemporary country and modern bluegrass, Taken picks right up where Destination Life ended, adding another 12 tracks of impeccable picking, fiddling, and crooning to her already impressive canon. Vincent called in more than a few friends, along with her top-notch band, the Rage, to assist her this time around, including her daughters, the duo known as the Next Best Thing. Richard Marx lends his radio-ready pipes to the ballad “Taken,” Dolly Parton stops on by and offers up her unmistakable soprano to the chorus of “In the Garden by the Fountain,” and award-winning bluegrass guitarist Bryan Sutton paints the heartbreak ballad “A Little at a Time” with some subtle, weepy slide work. Toss in a spirited version of the trucker staple "Tonight My Baby’s Coming Home,” a hit for Barbara Mandrell in 1971, and you’ve got another fine collection of homey Sunday-afternoon goodness from this dependable bandleader, player, and singer.

Track Listing

1 The Court of Love O'Reilly 3:08
2 Taken Geiger, Owens 3:41
3 In the Garden by the Fountain Brown 3:37
4 Song of a Whippoorwill Starling, Vincent 3:18
5 Back on My Mind Pierce, Quillen 3:07
6 When the Bloom Is Off the Rose Brown 4:23
7 Ragin' Live for You Tonight Harris, Helson, McDaris 3:40
8 Sweet Summertime Webster 2:49
9 Tonight My Baby's Coming Home Sherrill, Sutton 4:02
10 A Little at a Time Dalley, Martin, Shapiro 4:11
11 God Is Watching Harris, Tomberlain 3:20
12 You Must Have a Dream Hipskind 4:47