Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Usher - Versus

  1. #1
    Grumpy Old Man Music Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Lancaster, Kentucky, United States

    Default Usher - Versus

    released August 24th, 2010

    from the album - DJ Got Us Falling In Love

    from all music

    After Usher Raymond was spotted by a LaFace record executive at a talent show in his hometown of Atlanta, it took no time for his career to take off. The 14-year-old auditioned for LaFace co-founder L.A. Reid, who signed the gospel choir boy to a recording contract. Raymond was introduced to the world simply as "Usher," and released his debut album of the same name in 1994, which featured co-executive producer Sean "Puffy" Combs. The first single, "Think of You," gained Usher wide recognition and reached gold status. From that initial exposure, Usher was approached to do other projects. In 1995, he recorded a national holiday jingle for Coca-Cola. He also joined several top male R&B vocalists to form Black Men United for the single "You Will Know," featured on the Jason's Lyric soundtrack. He also teamed with teen singing sensation Monica for a duet remake of Latimore's "Let's Straighten It Out."

    After graduating from high school, Usher released his sophomore album, My Way, in 1997. In an attempt to display his maturity and songwriting abilities, Usher co-wrote six of the nine songs and enlisted the help of producers Jermaine Dupri, Babyface, and, again, Combs. The album's first single, "You Make Me Wanna," reestablished Usher as one of R&B's hottest artists, and also made him a crossover sensation; it topped the R&B charts for 11 weeks, hit number two pop, and eventually went double platinum. Both of the follow-up singles, "Nice & Slow" and "My Way," also went platinum; the former stayed at number one on the R&B charts for eight weeks and became his first number one pop single. In the meantime, Usher launched an acting career, appearing in the 1998 horror spoof The Faculty and the 1999 urban high-school drama Light It Up.

    To tide fans over, he issued a concert recording titled simply Live in 1999. Usher returned with his third proper album, All About U, toward the end of 2000. His third album, 8701 (2001), moved him from a teen pop star to a sultry R&B singer. In early 2004, Arista released the single "Yeah!" Produced by Lil Jon and guesting Ludacris, the addictive, lightly crunk cut fast became a club and radio favorite. By the time the Usher full-length Confessions dropped later that March, "Yeah!" had hit the top of the Billboard charts. The album itself was Usher's most mature work to date and won the Grammy for Best Contemporary R&B Album in 2004, while "Yeah!" took home the best rapped/sung collaboration award. He starred in the 2005 flop In the Mix and went back to music with 2008's Here I Stand, an album that was ultimately declared a flop, even though it topped the Billboard 200 and Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Albums charts. Raymond v Raymond, inspired in part by the end of his marriage, was released in 2010 as three of its songs were climbing the charts. Its buzz single, "Papers," had already topped the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles chart. An EP titled Versus followed later in the year.

    album review

    Five months after the release of Raymond V Raymond — shortly after the album went platinum — a deluxe edition containing a second disc was released. Containing eight songs and dubbed Versus, the second disc was also spun off as a separate release, sparing devout Usher fans from the irritation of buying Raymond V Raymond a second time. (Perhaps LaFace learned a lesson when they pulled that stunt with the deluxe edition of Confessions). With the peculiar addition of Raymond V Raymond's “There Goes My Baby,” the number one R&B song at the time of release, the stand-alone Versus technically contains nine songs. It mostly resembles a batch of leftovers from his weakest album, even though it functioned as a momentum maintainer. Two other songs, the Euro-pop club track “DJ Got Us Fallin’ in Love” and the sleazed-up “Hot Tottie” (featuring a Jay-Z guest verse), were on the R&B chart before the disc was issued. For the most part, Versus falls in line with its parent release’s mix of detached hedonism and pleading heartache. Just the same, no matter its success, it’s laced with innocuous Euro-pop, merely passable contemporary R&B productions, and Pretty Ricky-level couplets like “I’m tryin’ to get you home and get your clothes off/Skeet-skeet a couple off and then you doze off.”

    Track Listing

    1 Love 'Em All Dean, Delaine, Parhm, Raymond ... 3:48
    2 DJ Got Us Fallin' In Love Kotecha, Martin, Perez ... 3:40
    3 Hot Tottie Carter, Dawson, Dean, Jones ... 4:59
    4 Lay You Down Love, Nesmith, Raymond 4:03
    5 Lingerie Avila, Avila, Harris, Lewis ... 4:13
    6 There Goes My Baby Love, Morris, Romano, Scheffer 4:43
    7 Get In My Car Benno, Dean, Freeman, Jones ... 4:09
    8 Somebody To Love Bright, Reeves, Romulus, Yip 3:28
    9 Stranger Gholson, Lovett, Raymond 4:48
    “A man only learns in two ways, one by reading, and the other by association with smarter people.”
    Will Rogers

  2. #2


    he make a successful tour all over the world and i think the he named it raymond verses raymond.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts