released August 17th, 2010

from the album - Oh My Love

from all music

A Nashville-based singer, songwriter, and guitarist, Megan McCormick grew up in a musical family, picking up the guitar at the age of nine (she also plays lap steel guitar, mandolin, and bass), quickly working her way through style after style on the instrument, from blues, folk, and country to jazz and straight-out rock & roll. By the age of 12 she was already gigging in a band with her cousins. At the age of 15 she moved to Wasilla, AK (Sarah Palin's hometown) and began playing with a progressive bluegrass band called Bearfoot. A year later, at the age of 16, McCormick enrolled in East Tennessee State, studying with bluegrass players Raymond McLain and Jack Tottle, among others, and by the time she was 18 she was touring with Valerie Smith's bluegrass band. An excellent musician and player, she next split her time between playing with the jazz fusion group Missy Raines & the New Hip and the indie country band Everybodyfields. At the age of 20, McCormick did the obvious and moved to Nashville, where she quickly became an in-demand session player, thanks to her strong, distinctive, and varied guitar style. But McCormick was more than just a skilled guitarist — she also had developed into a gifted songwriter, often writing with her friend Tami Hinesh. Pursing a solo career, McCormick was discovered by music lawyer Tyler Middleton, who helped her set up Nashville showcases, land a publishing deal, hire a manager, and — eventually — secure a record deal with Rykodisc, who released her debut album, Honest Words, produced by Dave O'Donnell, in 2010.

album review

The old cliché about young artists displaying talents beyond their years sure seems like a truism in the case of Honest Words, the debut album of 23-year-old singer/songwriter/guitarist Megan McCormick. Raised in Wasilla, AK, she represents the very real possibility that Sarah Palin will not be that town's only legacy to the world at large. McCormick grew up in a musical family — not only did her parents play, but apparently her grandparents are in the Western Swing Hall of Fame. Being immersed in music from an early age may go some way toward explaining the precocious nature of McCormick's talent. And the country side of her roots might be what moved her to her current home base of Nashville, but while there are some undeniable country influences in her music, there's a lot more going on throughout Honest Words. The album's opening track, "Shiver," is a sinuous, bluesy stomper that gives a hint of McCormick's guitar mastery. Her six-string abilities are showcased a bit further on "Drifting," and the hard-driving "Addiction" shows the rock & roll side of McCormick's sound. The chugging, optimistic "Do Right" seems like the sort of tune that could have "country chart-topper" written all over it, if radio programmers were willing to listen through the album's eclectic mix of styles. The dark, intense "Pick Up the Phone" takes the dangers of drinking and dialing to almost epic proportions. And while the preponderance of ballads on Honest Words does tend to drag down the momentum a bit, false steps are hard to find in McCormick's emotionally honest, musically direct mix of country, rock, blues, pop, and folk.

Track Listing

1 Shiver Hinesh, McCormick 3:19
2 Things Change Kenney, McCormick 3:56
3 Do Right Hinesh, McCormick 2:37
4 Wreck (I Could Change) Hinesh, McCormick 4:27
5 Oh My Love McCormick 3:58
6 Driveway McCormick 4:18
7 Drifting Hinesh, McCormick 4:13
8 Lonely Tonight Hinesh, McCormick 3:49
9 Addiction Hinesh, McCormick 3:24
10 Wasted Hinesh, McCormick 6:01
11 Pick Up the Phone Hinesh, McCormick 5:06
12 Honest Words McCormick 5:54