released August 3rd, 2010

from the album - Speak Easy

from all music

Rapper Bun B (born Bernard Freeman) rose to fame in the duo UGK. Bun B and Pimp C formed UGK in the late '80s when their former crew, Four Black Ministers, fell apart. Based in Port Arthur, TX, UGK signed with Jive and with 1992's Too Hard to Swallow began a series of Southern gangsta rap albums that were successful sellers. Bun B formed the side project Mddl Fngz in 2000, but his main concern was still UGK. Things came to halt in 2003 when Pimp C was sentenced to eight years in prison on an aggravated gun assault charge. Bun B carried on solo, making numerous appearances on other artists' tracks and then in 2005 releasing both the mixtape Legends and his debut album, the Rap-a-Lot release Trill, a Top Ten hit. With Pimp C seeing early release in late 2005, Bun B returned to UGK and a self-titled double album from the duo dropped in 2007. Tragedy struck in early 2008 when Pimp C died suddenly, leaving Bun B to return to a solo career. His second solo album, II Trill, arrived that same year with his third, Trill O.G., following in 2010.

album review

Back with the 808 boom, the stone-cold rhymes, and that sturdy, warrior soul, Bun B is officially crowned consistent with his third solo effort, the satisfying Trill O.G. Anyone familiar with his first two efforts will find the same mix of radio-friendly singles (check the radiant T-Pain feature “Trillionaire” or the ultra-smooth Drake team-up “Put It Down”), and the kind of Houston-styled street music made popular by the rapper’s original crew, UGK (check the opening “Chuuch!” for that classic church organ swang). As far as surprises, there are few, but DJ Premier’s scratching and production on “Let ‘Em Know” gives Bun a new, funky flavor to bounce off and when “Right Now” utilizes a verse each from the late Pimp C and 2Pac, the results aren’t tacky, but are instead shockingly good. Speaking of the Pimp, Bun’s old partner still haunts the man and gets much love on the opening and closing cuts here, but there’s a new union struck with rapper Drake as the Drizzy one gets two guest shots and a shout-out from J. Prince on a third cut. While it borders on distracting for the listener, boss Bun isn’t fazed in the least, and rightfully drops “When it comes to trill, I’m the litmus test,” just so everyone is on the same page.

Track Listing

1 Chuuch! Freeman 4:46
2 Thrillionaire Crowe, Freeman, Najm, Ortiz ... 4:07
3 Just Like That Freeman, Gholson 4:16
4 Put It Down Freeman, Samuels 4:32
5 Right Now Butler, Freeman, Neverson ... 3:33
6 That's a Song :24
7 Countin' Money Freeman, Mims 3:34
8 Speakeasy Freeman 4:03
9 Lights, Cameras, Action Freeman 3:34
10 I Git Down 4 Mine Freeman 4:07
11 Snow Money Freeman 4:34
12 Ridin' Slow Freeman, Salinas, Thomas 5:09
13 Let 'Em Know Freeman, Martin 4:10
14 Listen :24
15 All a Dream Crowe, Freeman, Ortiz 3:23
16 It's Been a Pleasure Evans, Freeman, Samuels 5:45