released July 13th, 2010

from the album - Anchored

from all music

Popster Tony Lucca was born and raised in Pontiac, MI, where he reportedly learned to play guitar by the age of three. Following his high school graduation he moved to Los Angeles to pursue acting, eventually appearing in several independent films before turning his attention back to music. He released So Satisfied, the first of several independent album releases, in 1997, followed by Strong Words Softly Spoken in 1998, So Far (a limited-edition CD of fan favorites) in 2000, Simply Six (an EP of six acoustic songs) in 2002, along with several downloadable live shows available only on the Web. His first commercial release, Shotgun, appeared from Nu Vibe Records in 2004.

album review

There was a time when the kind of appealing pop/rock music made by singer/songwriter Tony Lucca would have made him a million-selling artist. Unfortunately, that time was around 1975, the popular heyday of his obvious models, people like James Taylor and Jackson Browne. By the late '90s, when Lucca emerged, he had to go the indie route, at first releasing his recordings himself and then contracting with Rock Ridge Music. 2010's Rendezvous with the Angels is his sixth album, and it is another collection of soothing, slightly soulful folk-rock. Lucca uses his breathy, elastic tenor either to profess his undying love to "you" in sincere, if clichéd terms, or to lament, with equal sincerity, that, for some unspecified reason, that love doesn't seem to be working out. Actually, he is a bit more reminiscent of the second echelon of ‘70s singer/songwriters, Jim Croce, say, or Kenny Loggins in their softer efforts, since he is more concerned with the groove and getting to the chorus than with saying anything in an original way. At times, he suggests other singers of the time, Phil Lynott of Thin Lizzy in "Long Love Letter," for example, and Aaron Neville in "Anchored." (It's not really that Lucca sounds so much like Neville, it's that the song, a slow ballad with an arrangement featuring a churchy organ, sounds like it ought to have been sung by Neville.) Lucca acknowledges another of his influences by covering Billy Joel's "Vienna." It's all easy on the ears and likely to reward him with a female following curious to know who that is singing in the background of a scene on a TV show such as Brothers & Sisters or Felicity (both of which, among others, have featured his music).

Track Listing

1 Like Love Lucca 3:08
2 Make You Mine Lucca 3:38
3 Stay with Me Tonight Lucca 3:15
4 Undertow Lucca 3:08
5 Song to a Martyr Lucca 4:50
6 Anchored Lucca 4:20
7 Long Love Letter Lucca 3:23
8 Back to Me Lucca, Polinar 4:03
9 Vienna Joel 3:49
10 Some Other Time Lucca 3:42
11 Love Light Lucca 4:19
12 Always Lucca 2:42
13 Nobody But You Lucca 5:10