released June 29th, 2010

from the album - My First Kiss

from all music

3Oh!3 is a duo from Boulder, CO (i.e., area code 303), whose style of music includes jokey raps, indie electronica beats, and lots of tomfoolery. Founded in 2004, the duo is comprised of Sean Foreman and Nathaniel Motte, who met while attending the University of Colorado. 3OH!3 made their recording debut in 2007 with a self-titled, independently released album. Their second album, Want (2008), was produced by Matt Squire and released by Photo Finish Records. In addition to their album releases, 3Oh!3 is known for their live performances, including a national series of shows on the 2008 Warped Tour. The duo went back into the studio with producer Matt Squire, and in 2010 they released their third album, Streets of Gold.

album review

Bona fide hitmakers by the time of this third album, 3oh!3 don’t mess with their winning formula on Streets of Gold, so let the snotty electro and frat-hop spew out of the speakers like last night’s raging kegger. That is, to a point. The down and out breakup number “R.I.P.” comes with a sensitive heart somewhere between Owl City and Erasure, while “I’m Not the One” is a retro-electro power ballad along the lines of Berlin’s “Take My Breath Away.” Add the relatively positive youth anthem “We Are Young,” and that’s three smart surprises that can’t be denied, but the rest of the album’s success depends on whether you find hook-filled, new wave-inspired, campy, trampy dance-pop catchy or cloying. Either way, “My First Kiss” is the zenith with a hook that incorporates kissing noises along with some come-on’s from crunkcore queen/special guest Kesha. Cute how “Touchin’ on My” mixes a censor’s bleep into its synth pop melody, and if you crave big, vibrant, well-crafted productions that might as well be Katy Perry singles, both “Déjà Vu” and "Double Vision" fit the bill. Shame that one-joke ideas like “House Party” get blown out of proportion, and even worse, the healthy helping of filler is obstinate, refusing to fade into the background because of over-the-top performances. 3oh!3 are nothing if not loud and shameless, so if you expect end-to-end excellence from their albums, you’ve got a lot to learn about cheap thrills.

Track Listing

1 Beaumont
2 I Can Do Anything
3 My First Kiss
4 Déjà Vu
5 We Are Young
6 Touchin on My
7 House Party
8 R.I.P.
9 I Know How to Say
10 Double Vision
11 I'm Not the One
12 Streets of Gold
13 See You Go
14 Love 2012