released May 18th, 2010

from the album - Lonely, Broke And Wasted

from all music

Husky-voiced American Idol singing sensation Harold "Bo" Bice hailed from Helena, AL, and brought his Southern sensibility with him to the fourth season of Fox's long-running talent contest. Bice competed weekly against fellow rocker Constantine Maroulis, his long hair, bell bottoms, and drug rug tunics against Maroulis' biker jacket and stockpile of New York City swagger. Eventually Bice won out (to the shock of some Idol fans), and went all the way to the winner's circle where he was AI runner-up to corn silk Oklahoman Carrie Underwood. The following summer Bice participated in the usual post-Idol tour with his fellow contestants; he also endured the traditional pry into his past life, which had evidently included brushes with drug possession. In the meantime, the release date of his debut album was pushed back. Real Thing eventually arrived in December 2005. Produced by Clive Davis, it featured collaborations with rockers Chad Kroeger (Nickelback) and Richie Sambora, as well as songwriting pros John Shanks and Max Martin. The album was certified gold, but RCA dropped Bice from its artist roster. He formed his own label, Sugar Money Records, and released See the Light on the new imprint in 2007, following it with Different Shades of Blue in 2010.

album review

Bo Bice re-rooted himself with 2007’s The Real Thing, returning to the soulful Southern rock that was his stock in trade on American Idol. He pivots from that foundation on 2010’s self-produced 3, keeping his feet planted in belting blues-rock but often leaning toward country, hitting the twang for every one of the ballads -- getting his best results on the nicely rolling “Wild Roses” -- going so far as hauling out mandolins to drive “Good Hearted Woman.” Bice never has seemed as country as he does here, and it suits him better than the ham-fisted blues-funk he unfortunately accentuates elsewhere, reaching a nadir on the flat-footed “Who Knows What” and “Get on and Ride.” Whenever he attempts to work up a head of steam, Bice stumbles; he’s so relaxed and comfortable in his own skin that he’s best in well-worn surroundings, whether it’s the country ballads or blues workouts that constitute the bulk of 3.

Track Listing

1 Keep on Rollin' Bice, Cerney, Lawson 3:01
2 Different Shades of Blue Barnhill, Bice 4:29
3 Coming Back Home Bice 3:59
4 Good Hearted Woman Bice 3:22
5 Lonely, Broke and Wasted Barnhill, Bice 3:33
6 Who Knows What Bice, Burgess 3:04
7 Long Road Back Bice 3:47
8 Wild Roses Bice, Burgess 4:04
9 Get on and Ride Bice 3:08
10 You Take Yourself with You Bice, Miller 3:46