released May 4th, 2010

from the album - That's My Attitude

from all music

Miami-based rapper Trina first gained notoriety in 1998 with her appearance on Trick Daddy's album. Her own debut album, Da Baddest Bitch, featured a cameo by Trick Daddy and was released in early 2000 on Atlantic Records. She spent the next two years honing her raw, raunchy style. She paired up with Missy Elliott for the recording of her second effort, 2002's Diamond Princess. Out of her first three albums, the star-studded, very polished 2005 effort Glamorest Life sold the worst, even with the hit single "Here We Go" featuring Kelly Rowland. No surprise, then, that her 2008 release, Still da Baddest, was a return to the rawness of her debut. Two years later Amazin' offered a more sophisticated set of tracks with everyone from Lil Wayne to Mario Winans lending a hand.

album review

Not the “from nuthin’ to somethin’” album the opening title track infers, Amazin’ is tough rapper Trina cleaning up good, and offering a less filthy effort with plenty of crossover cuts. At 15 tracks, the problems are redundancy and over-stuffing, but the hook-filled highlights and seductive club numbers are plentiful enough that this is a minor annoyance. Best of the lot is the dancehall-fresh cut “Dang a Lang” featuring Lady Saw and Nicki Minaj, but coming in a close second is the ghetto fabulous theme song “Million Dollar Girl,” which is as flashy as a Diddy-guesting cut should be. That the ballads are better here than on her previous effort Still da Baddest is even more good news, especially when “On Da Hush” threatens to woo away the most faithful of men with “We be playin’ Twister/Hittin’ every position”. Big names like J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League, J.R. Rotem, and Mario Winans help with the beats, while everyone from Lil Wayne to Lyfe Jennings turn up for guest shots. Even if “Bi**s” and “Hoes” still show up on the track list, Trina’s dropping of the bad-badder-baddest song title scheme is well-timed as Amazin’ is the proper tag for such a successful step toward the bigger and the better.

Track Listing

1 Amazin' (Intro) Lucas, Saunders 3:09
2 That's My Attitude Lucas 3:41
3 Million Dollar Girl Lucas 4:01
4 On da Hush Lucas, Saunders 3:50
5 Dang a Lang Saunders 4:39
6 I Want It All Lucas, Saunders 4:04
7 White Girl 3:27
8 My Bitches Lucas 2:58
9 By Myself Lucas, Saunders 3:07
10 Always 3:54
11 Currency Saunders 3:33
12 Make Way Lucas, Saunders 3:52
13 Let Dem Hoes Fight Lucas 3:45
14 Showing Out Lucas, Saunders 4:37
15 Capricorn Lucas, Saunders 3:48