released May 4th, 2010

from the album - World Sick

from all music

Broken Social Scene materialized in 1999 when K.C. Accidental's Kevin Drew and Brendan Canning, formerly of By Divine Right, bonded their friendship into a band. They spent the next few years honing an atmospheric rock sound in their native Toronto and the dynamic was great. Feel Good Lost marked their debut album in 2001 and introduced a revolving cast of Canadian indie musicians. Drew's fellow mate from Do Make Say Think, Charles Spearin, was added to the band, as well as Evan Cranley (Stars), James Shaw, and Emily Haines (Metric). By the time their guitar-fueled sophomore effort, You Forgot It in People, was released in fall 2002, Broken Social Scene had become an 11-piece collective. Jason Collett, Andrew Whiteman, Justin Peroff, and Leslie Feist fulfilled the band's bombastic, orchestrated sound, and critics loved it. You Forgot It in People was a buzz among indie cohorts, and plans for a stateside release on Arts & Crafts was slated for the following summer. A surprise, however, coincided with those plans in spring 2003 when Broken Social Scene won a Juno for Alternative Album of the Year for You Forgot It in People.

In order to maintain praise from critics, the band issued its first ever B-sides and rarities collection, Bee Hives, in spring 2004. For the band's 2005 self-titled studio album, Broken Social Scene once again joined producer David Newfeld. Additional contributions by select members of Stars, Metric, Do Make Say Think, Raising the Fawn, the Dears, and others contributed to the ambitious sounds of Broken Social Scene. A joint North American tour with Feist followed its release. In 2007, Kevin Drew released the first installment in a series of "Broken Social Scene Presents" solo outings called Spirit If…, followed in 2008 by Brendan Canning’s Something for All of Us..., both of which featured appearances from nearly all the other members of the band. The group’s fifth full-length offering, Forgiveness Rock Record, arrived in May 2010.

album review

As the founding fathers, mothers, brothers, and sisters of the "indie rock collective” phenomenon, Broken Social Scene sure have spread their seeds since their eponymous third album in 2005. Between the commercial success of Leslie Feist and the myriad “Broken Social Scene Presents” solo outings, some feared that the Canadian supergroup’s next outing would be a lackluster collection of stitched-together notebook ramblings and half-hearted demos swept up from the studio floor of previous sessions. Luckily, the endlessly creative and surprisingly fluid Forgiveness Rock Record dispels any notion of opportunism by sticking to what the group does best: crafting clever, ramshackle, occasionally soaring bedroom pop songs (listen close for sirens) in a big expensive studio. Bolstered by a handful of evenly spaced, arena-sized rockers like “World Sick,” “Forced to Love,” “Ungrateful Little Father,” and “Water in Hell,” the remaining ten tracks flip through genres like a picture book, pausing only to pencil in the occasional instrumental, one of which (“Meet Me in the Basement,” with its huge strings and “guitarmonies”) elicits bigger goose bumps than some of the singalongs. That’s not to say that the guts of the record are filler, as some of the best moments are its most nuanced (Emily Haines, Leslie Feist, and Amy Millan’s breezy, instantly engaging “Sentimental X,” the easy, dusty “Highway Slipper Jam”), proving once again that an army can make a cohesive album if everyone follows the rules of engagement. The core members may be down to nine, with an emphasis on founders Kevin Drew and Brendan Canning, but the “additional members” and “guests” involved (31 strong, when all is said and done) are what make Forgiveness Rock Record unique, especially in an era where bloated membership is so often used as a gimmick.

Track Listing

1 World Sick 6:47
2 Chase Scene 3:31
3 Texico Bitches 3:49
4 Forced to Love 3:34
5 All to All 4:49
6 Art House Director 3:32
7 Highway Slipper Jam 4:26
8 Ungrateful Little Father 6:41
9 Meet Me in the Basement 3:43
10 Sentimental X's 5:40
11 Sweetest Kill 5:09
12 Romance to the Grave 4:47
13 Water in Hell 4:24
14 Me and My Hand 2:05