released Apr 27th, 2010

from the album - Kissing U

bio from all music

Teenage actress Miranda Cosgrove launched her music career in 2007, when she scored a hit with the theme song to her own TV show. Born in Los Angeles on May 14, 1993, she began her acting career at a young age, appearing in several commercials as well as the pilot episode of Smallville. Her breakthrough role came in 2002, when she played the role of Summer Hathaway in the film School of Rock, a comedy hit starring Jack Black. In the wake of School of Rock's success, she was cast in a supporting role on the children's television sitcom Drake & Josh (as Drake and Josh's kid sister, Megan Parker), which was broadcast by Nickelodeon from 2004 to 2008.

As Drake & Josh drew to a close, Cosgrove landed the lead role in iCarly, another popular Nickelodeon sitcom. Cosgrove also performed the show's theme song, which was commercially released in 2007 and became a hit soon after, driven in large part by YouTube views and iTunes downloads. iCarly: Music from and Inspired by the Hit TV Show appeared one year later, featuring four performances by Cosgrove and additional music by the likes of Sean Kingston, Menudo, and the Naked Brothers Band. By the end of that year, Cosgrove had also released a holiday single, “Christmas Wrapping” (a cover version of the Waitresses track), and started to work on a full-length album. Her song "Raining Sunshine" landed on the soundtrack to Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs in 2009, and she released her debut album, Sparks Fly, one year later.

album review from all music

Staring down her 17th birthday, Miranda Cosgrove faces the rite of passage that every Disney idol must pass: releasing her debut album. As the star of the super-millennial iCarly, perhaps it shouldn’t be a complete surprise that Sparks Fly is bedecked in modern electronic rhythms and icy hooks, yet the glassy surface sheen flies in the face of the natural charm Cosgrove displays on iCarly and its accompanying soundtrack. Miranda winds up buried underneath the weight of production on Sparks Fly — it often comes across like a cross of Miley Cyrus and Kesha’s full-frontal assault (she is responsible for the album’s nadir, “Disgusting”) — nor is she helped much by the series of belabored melodies that push her into vocal gymnastics that tax her range. Trace elements of her charm remain — when the synths and brickwalled guitars are stripped back she retains a sweet girlish appeal — but Sparks Fly is a cold, calculating product, right down to how the standard length is an EP-length eight songs so the four extra cuts on the “Deluxe Edition” seem like a gift. Miranda deserves better than this.

Track Listing

1 Kissin U Cosgrove, Gottwald, Kelly 3:19
2 Bam Armato, James, Jerkins 2:50
3 Disgusting Meredith, Sebert, Sebert ... 3:39
4 Shakespeare Cagle, Levine 3:42
5 Hey You Winger, Winger 3:56
6 There Will Be Tears Coleman, Grigg, McKee 3:13
7 Oh Oh Astrom, Kotecha, Martin 2:54
8 Daydream Kreviazuk, Lavigne 3:10