released Apr 27th, 2010

from the album - What's In It For?

bio from all music

Avigdor Zahner-Isenberg began writing songs as a high-school sophomore, using the name "Avi Buffalo" as his musical alias. Within a year’s time, the Long Beach native had put together a full band comprised of drummer Sheridan Riley, bassist Arin Fazio, and keyboardist Rebecca Coleman. After playing several small shows, the teenagers won the support of engineer Aaron Embry, who welcomed Avi Buffalo into his home studio for a round of recording sessions. The band’s quirky lo-fi pop songs also attracted attention from Sub Pop Records, and the label released Avi Buffalo’s first single in late 2009. A self-titled album followed in April 2010.

album review from all music

Long Beach, CA’s Avi Buffalo may own some Shins records, but that doesn’t mean that bandleader Avigdor Zahner-Isenberg’s wiry falsetto and inherent knack for pairing pop hooks with handclaps is destined for silver screen adoration. The band’s Sub Pop debut may be quirky, but it’s a little sinister too, boasting a heavy dose of arty melancholy (“What’s in It For?”) and subversive, faux-twee indie pop (“Summer Cum”) that has more in common with left-field outfits like the Danielson Famile and Deerhoof than it does the Morning Benders. Either way, the band never truly offers up a mission statement, which is kind of nice, as the fragmented song structures and childlike melodies manage to come off as either cloying or slightly unhinged, depending on the temperament of the listener. It’s when they stomp their feet on that middle ground that their eponymous debut kicks up the most sand, and with a little more nuance, their future endeavors could leave some pretty hefty footprints.

Track Listing

1 Truth Sets In Zahner-Isenberg 3:35
2 What's In It For? Zahner-Isenberg 5:09
3 Coaxed Zahner-Isenberg 4:22
4 Five Little Sluts Zahner-Isenberg 2:56
5 Jessica Zahner-Isenberg 4:23
6 Summer Cum Zahner-Isenberg 3:33
7 One Last Zahner-Isenberg 3:58
8 Can't I Know? Zahner-Isenberg 4:29
9 Remember Last Time Zahner-Isenberg 7:28
10 Where's Your Dirty Mind Zahner-Isenberg 5:02