released Mar 9th, 2010

from the album - Rise From The Shadows

YouTube - Alberta Cross - Rise From The Shadows

from all music

Alberta Cross are a blues and country-influenced roots rock act drawing their sound from the foundation built by the Band and Neil Young. The London group's main members and songwriters are bassist Terry Wolfers and vocalist/guitarist Petter Ericson Stakee, who as a child traveled with his singer/songwriter father. The full band includes John Alexander Ericson (organ) and Seb Sternberg (drums). The self-produced EP The Thief & the Heartbreaker was delivered through the prestigious U.K. label Fiction in May 2007, followed by Broken Side of Time in 2009.

album review

The five members of Alberta Cross, representing the disparate rock locales of Brooklyn, New York, London, England and Stockholm Sweden, share an innate love of all things Americana on their 2010 sophomore effort Broken Side of Time. Like Crazy Horse fronted by Mercury Rev’s Jonathan Donahue, the band blazes a trail through the backwoods with the raw fury of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and the pensive, world weary pen of Gram Parsons. For the most part, grungy, mid-tempo numbers like "Song Three Blues,” “Rise from the Shadows” and the epic title track (which sports a nice, meaty, Sabbath-inspired breakdown) provide Broken Side of Time’s backbone, but there are enough boozy stadium rockers here to keep fists pumping through the thick veil of smoke. Still, it’s a slow burner with nary a hook in sight, and vocalist/guitar player Petter Ericson Stakee’s theatric mumbles can be an acquired taste, but listeners with a CD collection that leans heavily on bands like Catherine Wheel, Sixteen Horsepower, the Cult and Kings of Leon will find this dense monolith of roots-based, stoner rock to be the perfect late night companion for a dark summer highway.

Track Listing

1. "Song Three Blues" 3:18
2. "ATX" 4:45
3. "Taking Control" 4:22
4. "Old Man Chicago" 3:08
5. "Broken Side of Time" 5:15
6. "Rise from the Shadows" 6:50
7. "City Walls" 3:37
8. "The Thief & the Heartbreaker" 4:41
9. "Leave Us and Forgive Us" 3:22
10. "Ghost of City Life" 5:19