released Mar 2nd, 2010

from the album - Little Lion Man

YouTube - Mumford and Sons - Little Lion Man

from all music

Inspired by folk, rock, country, and bluegrass, London-based quartet Mumford & Sons features singer/guitarist/drummer Marcus Mumford, vocalist and banjo/dobro player Winston Marshall, vocalist/keyboardist Ben Lovett and vocalist/bassist Ted Dwane. The foursome started playing together in 2007; though they were playing with other bands at the time, they bonded over their shared love of rootsy music. Mumford & Sons quickly became a part of London's underground folk scene, which included acts like Laura Marling and Noah and the Whale. By late autumn 2007, the band was writing songs and playing shows frequently, leading to a gig at 2008's Glastonbury Festival. That June, their self-titled debut EP arrived, followed by the Love Your Ground EP that December. In in May 2009, The Cave and the Open Sea EP was released; meanwhile, Mumford & Sons signed to Island Records and worked with producer Markus Drays (the Arcade Fire, Maccabees) on their first full-length. That summer, the single "Little Lion Man" became the first taste of their new material; it was named "Hottest Record in the World This Week" by BBC 1 Radio DJ Zane Lowe in July. The group was shortlisted for the BBC's Sound of 2009 Poll shortly before their debut album, Sigh No More, was released that winter.

album review

English folk outfit Mumford & Sonsí full-length debut owes more than a cursory nod to bands like the Waterboys, the Pogues, and the Men They Couldnít Hang. The groupís heady blend of biblical imagery, pastoral introspection, and raucous, pub-soaked heartache may be earnest to a fault, but when the wildly imperfect Sigh No More is firing on all cylinders, as is the case with stand-out cuts like "The Cave," "Winter Winds," and "Little Lion Man," itís hard not to get swept up in the rapture. Like their London underground folk scene contemporaries Noah & the Whale, Johnny Flynn, and Laura Marling, Mumford & Sonsí take on British folk is far from traditional. Thereís a deep vein of 21st century Americana that runs through the album, suggesting a healthy diet of Fleet Foxes, Arcade Fire, Sufjan Stevens, Blitzen Trapper, and Marah. That melding of styles, along with some solid knob-twiddling from Arcade Fire/Coldplay producer Markus Dravs, helps to keep the record from completely sinking into the quicksand of its myriad slow numbers ó tracks like "I Gave You All," "Thistle & Weeds," and "After the Storm" are pretty and plain enough, but they neuter a band this spirited. Sigh No More is an impressive debut, but one that impresses more for its promise of the future than it does its wildly inconsistent place in the present.

Track Listing

1. "Sigh No More" 3:27
2. "The Cave" 3:37
3. "Winter Winds" 3:39
4. "Roll Away Your Stone" 4:23
5. "White Blank Page" 4:14
6. "I Gave You All" 4:20
7. "Little Lion Man" 4:06
8. "Timshel" 2:53
9. "Thistle & Weeds" 4:49
10. "Awake My Soul" 4:15
11. "Dust Bowl Dance" 4:43
12. "After the Storm" 4:07