released Feb 9th, 2010

from the album - Paranoia

YouTube - Pierced Arrows - "Paranoia" Video

from all music

The Pierced Arrows mark a new chapter in the careers of two of the most indefatigable figures in garage punk, Fred Cole and Toody Cole. Born in Nevada in 1948, Fred Cole started playing music when he was 13, and recorded his first single in 1964 with the Las Vegas-based combo the Lords. In 1966, after moving to Los Angeles, he formed the Weeds, who cut the garage rock classic "You Must Be a Witch" (appearing on a number of compilations including the Nuggets box set) after the band signed to Uni Records and had its name changed to the Lollipop Shoppe in 1968. By that time, Fred had married Toody Connor, who he met while the Weeds were playing an extended engagement at a club in Portland, OR, where she worked. After the breakup of the Lollipop Shoppe, Fred and Toody settled in the Portland area and opened a music store while Fred worked with a variety of bands and Toody learned to play music. In the late '70s, Fred heard the Ramones and was excited by the energy and immediacy of punk rock; after a stint with a punk-influenced group called the Rats, Fred formed Dead Moon in the mid-'80s, which featured him on guitar and vocals, Toody on bass and vocals, and Andrew Loomis on drums.

Dead Moon were a fiercely independent outfit who wrote, produced, and recorded their own material; released most of their albums on their own Tombstone Records label; and even cut their own master lacquers for vinyl releases, with Fred doing the work on a vintage monophonic lathe that had cut the original release of the Kingsmen's "Louie, Louie." Dead Moon slowly but surely gained a cult following for their raw but soulful music, particularly in Germany, but in 2006, to the surprise of many, Dead Moon abruptly broke up. Some wondered if Fred and Toody, grandparents and both near 60 years of age, had finally grown weary of music and life on the road, but they answered that question in April 2007 when they debuted their new band, the Pierced Arrows. Joining Fred and Toody in the Pierced Arrows was drummer Kelly Halliburton (formerly with Defiance and Severed Heads of State), whose father played keyboards with Fred in a band called Albatross in the 1970s. Recalling the passionate and elemental sound of Dead Moon but with a leaner melodic approach influenced by the blues, the Pierced Arrows began touring the United States, Europe, and Australia, and released their first album, Straight from the Heart, on Tombstone in the spring of 2008. In the fall of 2009, the Pierced Arrows announced that they had signed a deal with Vice Records, and their first release for the label, Descending Shadows, was scheduled for release in February 2010.

album review

Like the man says, the more things change, the more they stay the same…or at least that's the way it seems to go with Fred and Toody Cole, the proud elder statesmen of garage punk. For close to 20 years, the Coles recorded and toured with Dead Moon, one of the toughest and most consistently powerful bands in underground rock, but in 2006, they pulled the plug on the group, and more than a few folks assumed that Fred (a grandfather who has been making records since 1966) was ready to retire. But thankfully, that wasn't in the cards, and after teaming up with drummer Kelly Halliburton, Fred and Toody are back in action with a new trio, Pierced Arrows, and the combo's second album, Descending Shadows, has more in common with Dead Moon than substantial differences. Fred Cole's guitar work is still sharp and elemental, his vocals remain an impassioned howl against a world that seems to conspire against all good things, Toody's singing is still a touch smoother and more sorrowful but just as emotionally edgy, and her bass work locks in tight with Halliburton's in a rhythm section that's an ideal fusion of frenzy and precision. From a songwriting perspective, Pierced Arrows feel a bit leaner, more deliberate, and more tuneful than one expected from Dead Moon (especially on the almost-ballad "This Time Around"), and the production is a shade cleaner and more refined, though this is still as no-frills as rock & roll gets these days. But the meat of the story is that after fronting one great band, Fred and Toody Cole are fronting another great band, and while Descending Shadows sounds like it preserves a live set rather than exploring the possibilities of the studio, it's a live set from a band that's tight, focused, righteously angry, and full of fire; this music is fierce and anthemic without ever sounding pretentious, and Pierced Arrows show that a few decades of experience can actually be good for you in punk rock, a welcome revelation in a genre that thrives on youthful snot.

Track Listing

1 This Is the Day 3:50
2 Buried Alive 3:12
3 On Our Way 3:38
4 Ain't Life Strange 2:49
5 Paranoia 5:51
6 Tripped Out 2:27
7 Onthemove 3:18
8 This Time Around 2:06
9 Let It Rain 3:47
10 Zip My Lip 3:23
11 Coming Down to Earth 3:31