released Dec 8th

from the album
YouTube - Puddle of Mudd - Out of My Way

from amg

One of the first acts signed to Limp Bizkit frontman Fred Durst's label, Flawless Records, was the alt-metal quartet Puddle of Mudd — consisting of Wesley Scantlin (guitar and vocals), Paul Phillips (guitar), Douglas Ardito (bass), and Greg Upchurch (drums). While their songs expectedly contain the rage of such contemporaries as Korn and Rage Against the Machine, Scantlin's voice at times is eerily similar to Nirvana's late, great frontman, Kurt Cobain, containing unmistakable elements of traditional hard rock (unlike the other aforementioned band's penchant for rap). August 2001 saw the release of their major-label debut, Come Clean (which was preceded by the independent release Abrasive), as they embarked on a European tour with Godsmack a month later, before touring the U.S. as part of the Family Values 2001 tour, alongside Stone Temple Pilots, Linkin Park, and Staind. The band subsequently remained somewhat busy, releasing Life on Display in 2003 and Famous in 2007. Two years later, Puddle of Mudd went back into the studio with producer Brian Howes and recorded their fourth studio effort, Volume 4: Songs in the Key of Love and Hate.

album review

Give Puddle of Mudd a bit of credit for the title of their fourth album, Songs in the Key of Love and Hate, as it shows awareness of their obsessions while dropping an offhand allusion to Stevie Wonder and Leonard Cohen. This doesn’t necessarily make aforementioned songs much more palatable, because Puddle of Mudd remains blissfully mired in a grunge muck, playing Nirvana as if they were party music like Stone Temple Pilots and lifting an STP move or two for good measure. Sometimes, Mudd manages to crank out a brute-force recycled riff that hooks deeper than it has any right to, and there’s some amusement to hearing “Spaceship,” “Keep It Together” and “Out of My Way” play as the life cycle of a love affair with a stripper in its progression from sex to love to hate, but the whole enterprise is torpedoed by the group’s oppressive, mean-spirited vulgarity. Rock & roll isn’t meant to be tasteful, but rampant grossness is another matter entirely, and that’s what Puddle of Mudd delivers here, opening with a track that concludes with a dump in the toilet and ending with a song about skipping school to jack off. It takes Wes Scanlin no more than five words to sing “sh**” on “Stoned,” following it up with a “sh**” and a “f***” in the chorus. He’d be well off to heed the sage advice of Larry David — “You already said f*** once, you don’t need two f***s” - but since his music clobbers home the obvious, there’s no reason his words should be any different.

Track Listing

1 Stoned Howes, Phillips, Scantlin 3:29
2 Spaceship Phillips, Scantlin, Stone 3:16
3 Keep It Together Phillips, Scantlin 3:52
4 Out of My Way Phillips, Scantlin 4:02
5 Blood on the Table Phillips, Scantlin 3:12
6 The Only Reason Ardito, Betts, Scantlin 4:06
7 Pitchin' a Fit Scantlin, Stone 3:38
8 Uno Mas Ardito, Scantlin 2:58
9 Better Place Kurzweg, Scantlin, Stone 4:01
10 Hooky Kurzweg, Phillips, Scantlin 3:10