released Nov 23rd

from the album - For Your Entertainment
YouTube - adam lambert for your entertainment

from amg

Before becoming a front-runner in the eighth season of American Idol, vocalist Adam Lambert made his name in the theater world, where he performed alongside Val Kilmer in the debut production of Ten Commandments: The Musical and landed an understudy role in a touring production of Wicked. The California native subsequently parlayed that theater background into a successful multi-month run on American Idol in 2009. Lambert's flair for neo-goth attire and eclectic arrangements made him a critical favorite, as did his dramatic tenor vocals. Following performances of Led Zeppelin's "Whole Lotta Love," Tears for Fears' "Mad World," and Johnny Cash's "Ring of Fire," Lambert found himself pitted against contender Kris Allen in the grand finale, which he ultimately lost by a slim margin. Lambert was unanimously praised by the American Idol judges, however, who all but guaranteed him a successful recording career following the show's conclusion.

Although Lambert didn't win the Idol competition, he received far more attention than his castmates during the subsequent months, appearing on the cover of Rolling Stone in June ("I don't think it should be a surprise for anyone to hear that I'm gay," he stated in the accompanying article, thus putting an end to the public's speculation) and eliciting standing ovations during the summer-long American Idol tour. He also signed with RCA and began recording his debut album, working alongside producer Rob Cavallo while soliciting material from the likes of Lady GaGa, Linda Perry, Justin Hawkins, and RedOne. One month before For Your Entertainment's release, Lambert released his first single, a track from the 2012 soundtrack titled "Time for Miracles." His debut album followed in November, arriving one week after the release of Kris Allen's own debut.

album review

With Adam Lambert, American Idol finally got a finalist who was completely, utterly contemporary, aware of what’s hip in music and culture and aware of how music is made and consumed in 2009, never seeming to try to follow fads or set trends, just embodying the time. Mercifully, he came in second to Kris Allen, for if he came in first he may have had to tame his self-styled glamazon ways. A second place finish allowed Lambert to come out of the closet and indulge in his penchant for theater on his debut, For Your Entertainment — which isn’t quite the same thing as camp, for if Adam Lambert is anything, he’s earnest about his dress-up, never winking at the audience because he doesn’t think there’s much funny about his glitter and mascara: that’s just what pop stars are supposed to do. He’s learned that by listening to his stacks of Queen and Bowie records, from watching old MTV videos on YouTube, from living in a present that always competes with the ever-present past, so he takes it all at face value, mixing up arena rock guitars, new wave, disco, operatic overdubs with a constant electro pulse, glassy modern R&B, and the vague Euro strains of new millennium teen pop. All this makes For Your Entertainment very, very modern in a way few mainstream pop albums are in 2009, whether they’re products of the American Idol/19 machine or not: Max Martin, Dr. Luke, Rivers Cuomo, P!nk, Lady GaGa, Linda Perry, Ryan Tedder, Muse’s Matthew Bellamy, and Justin Hawkins of the Darkness all elbow each other for space here, creating cheerful genre-bending where Sweet gives way to the Scissor Sisters, and it’s never, ever necessary for a listener to recognize the allusions, either the intentional or accidental. All the heavy-hitters here write to Adam’s image — GaGa wisely goes so far as to keep the object of his affection male — and they give him some truly terrific pop tunes: Hawkins’ glorious, goofy opener “Music Again,” a strange dead ringer for Aldo Nova; Dr. Luke’s cool strutting title track; Bellamy’s shimmering smoothed-out Radiohead “Soaked”; P!nk’s pained “Whataya Want from Me”; Cuomo’s surging “Pick U Up,” which could have fit on Raditude; Tedder’s typically icy alienation “Sleepwalker”; and Lady GaGa’s terrific disco “Fever.” Lambert sounds larger than life on these, just like he wants to be, and if there’s no sense of danger here — whenever he dons his leather and his girlfriends put on their stripper heels, it’s playacting drama club kids getting a kick out of their adopted roles — at least there’s a lot of pure pop pleasure here, more than any immediate post-Idol album has ever delivered.

Track Listing
1 Music Again Hawkins 3:16
2 For Your Entertainment Gottwald, Gottwald, Kelly 3:35
3 Whataya Want from Me Martin, P!nk, Pink, Shellback 3:47
4 Strut DioGuardi, Lambert, Wells ... 3:29
5 Soaked Bellamy 4:33
6 Sure Fire Winners Gamson, James, Leiber 3:33
7 A Loaded Smile Perry 4:04
8 If I Had You Kotecha, Martin, Shellback 3:48
9 Pick U Up Cuomo, Germanotta, Lambert ... 4:00
10 Fever Bhasker, Germanotta, Lindsey ... 3:26
11 Sleepwalker Ferras, Lambert, Lindsey, Mayo ... 4:26
12 Aftermath Bogart, Ferras, Lambert ... 4:26
13 Broken Open [*] Bogart, Johannes, Lambert ... 5:10
14 Time for Miracles [*] Johannes, Shneider 4:42