released Nov 10th

from the album - Uncorrected Personality Traits
YouTube - Robyn Hitchcock "Uncorrected Personality Traits" LIVE

from amg

Robyn Hitchcock is one of England's most enduring contemporary singer/songwriters and live performers. Despite having been persistently branded as eccentric or quirky for much of his career, Hitchcock has continued to develop his whimsical repertoire, deepen his surreal catalog, and expand his devoted audience beyond the boundaries of cult stature. He is among alternative rock's father figures and is the closest thing the genre has to a Bob Dylan (not coincidentally his biggest inspiration).

Starting his career as a folkie in the Cambridge England, Hitchcock has been compared to his fellows in British folk-rock, Roy Harper and the Incredible String Band, specifically because of his acoustic guitar and loopy vocal style, though his rock voice bears shades of John Lennon and Syd Barrett. Switching gears early to front the Soft Boys, a punk-era band specializing in melodic, chiming jangle pop and clever lyrics (Underwater Moonlight remains a classic of the genre), it wasn't long before he quit the band life and made his solo debut. Black Snake Diamond Role (1981) confirmed his reputation as an oddball thanks to his titles "Brenda's Iron Sledge" and "Acid Bird," among others. The psychedelia of Groovy Decay (1982) followed, as did the all-acoustic I Often Dream of Trains (1984). By 1985, Hitchcock's unpredictable songsmithing coalesced on Fegmania! Later that year, the live document Gotta Let This Hen Out! demonstrated his command of the stage. In 1988, he landed his first major U.S. label contract with A&M Records and followed by releasing the ambitious Globe of Frogs (1988) and Queen Elvis (1989). He continued to record (Perspex Island, 1991 and Respect, 1993) and receive college radio airplay, though once the momentum of the A&M years begun to lag, Hitchcock bounced back in 1996 with the return to form Moss Elixir (Warner Brothers) which embraced his folk roots. Storefront Hitchcock, the soundtrack to the Jonathan Demme-directed concert film, followed in 1998.

Upon release from his contract with Warner Bros., Hitchcock self-released A Star for Bram (Editions PAF! 2000), a collection of outtakes and leftover recordings from the Jewels for Sophia (1999) sessions. In 2002 he released Robyn Sings, a double-disc collection of Bob Dylan songs culled from various live appearances in America and abroad during 1999-2000. The stripped-down Luxor followed in 2003, released in conjunction with his 50th birthday. In 2004, he took not only a bit role in Jonathan Demme's remake of The Manchurian Candidate, but released Spooked (Yep Roc Records) a one-off collaboration with alternative country artists Gillian Welch and David Rawlings, recorded over a period of six days in Nashville. 2005 saw the release of a Japanese-only compilation of his work while 2006 offered This Is the BBC, a collection of his BBC sessions from the '90s, as well as Olé! Tarantula, a new batch of surreal pop tunes recorded with members of the Minus 5. In 2007, Hitchcock became the subject of a documentary by director John Edginton (Robyn Hitchcock: Sex, Food, Death... and Insects) — a behind the scenes look at Robyn's work with Nick Lowe, John Paul Jones, Peter Buck, Bill Rieflin, Gillian Welch and other collaborators in the Venus 3 project. A companion live EP of the Venus 3's subsequent American tour was released at the same time. In late 2007, Yep Roc began reissuing all of Hitchcock's earlier work, culminating in the boxed collection I Wanna Go Backwards. Hitchcock delved back into the archives for 2008's Shadow Cat, a collection of unreleased material from the latter half of the '90s, and also for Luminous Groove, a box set of early Egyptians releases and rarities. Goodnight Oslo and the live CD/DVD set I Often Dream of Trains in New York followed in 2009.

album review

Recorded live at Symphony Space in New York City, I Often Dream of Trains in New York features Robyn Hitchcock and multi-instrumentalists Tim Keegan and Terry Edwards re-creating the willfully eccentric Englishman's seminal 1983 post-Soft Boys solo outing I Often Dream of Trains in its entirety. In typical "Hitchcockian" fashion, the singer enters the stage to the tinny crackle of a hand-held tape recorder playing "Sometimes I Wish I Was a Pretty Girl," sits down at the piano, comically slows the pitch and begins playing the moody instrumental "Nocturne." What follows is a surprisingly deft and poignant retelling of his most beloved album, peppered with the usual Dada banter about tomatoes, microorganisms, and detectives. The two-disc set includes a DVD of the performance, as well as a surreal short film that features extended footage from the original video shoot for the title track backed by random bursts of disconnected music and dialogue.

Track Listing
1 Sometimes I Wish I Was a Pretty Girl Hitchcock 01:40
2 Nocturne Hitchcock 03:08
3 Flavour of Light Hitchcock 03:01
4 Cathedral Hitchcock 04:26
5 Sounds Great When You're Dead Hitchcock 03:58
6 Uncorrected Personality Traits Hitchcock 03:01
7 I Used to Say I Love You Hitchcock 05:34
8 Winter Love Hitchcock 04:38
9 This Could Be the Day Hitchcock 03:42
10 Ye Sleeping Knights of Jesus Hitchcock 04:43
11 Trams of Old London Hitchcock 04:17
12 My Favourite Buildings Hitchcock 03:08
13 That's Fantastic, Mother Church Hitchcock 02:59
14 Heart Full of Leaves Hitchcock 02:44
15 Autumn Is Your Last Chance Hitchcock 04:27
16 I Often Dream of Trains Hitchcock 03:47
17 America Hitchcock 06:01
18 Up to Our Nex Hitchcock 04:12
19 Goodnight I Say Hitchcock 04:14