released Nov 3rd

Let It Beat

from the album - Get U Home

from amg

Although that terrible Jamie Kennedy movie Malibu's Most Wanted posited that the beachside Los Angeles suburb is so upper class and lily white that the only rappers it can produce are rich teenagers fronting gangsta poses, real-life Malibu resident Shwayze begs to differ. He's in touch enough with movie culture that his handle is a corruption of the surname of the star of Dirty Dancing and Roadhouse, and his musical mentor is Cisco Adler, son of multi-millionaire record producer Lou Adler, most notorious for a hugely unflattering nude photo widely circulated on the Internet while Adler was dating TV star Mischa Barton, as well as a stint on a short-lived VH1 reality series, The Rock Life. However, despite this intimate connection with a second-generation nepotist more known for his connections than his talent, Shwayze claims to have grown up in a comparatively tough trailer park in one of Malibu's less prosperous neighborhoods. Born Aaron Smith in 1986, legend has it Shwayze was working as an assistant to his handyman grandfather in 2005 when he began an impromptu on-stage freestyle with a friend, drummer Alex Orbison, prior to a local gig by Orbison's band Whitestarr. Adler, Whitestarr's singer/songwriter, was impressed enough with the young rapper that he started collaborating with him. Co-writing the songs with Adler producing, the duo came up with a mellow, largely acoustic sound akin to a hip-hop Jack Johnson, far removed from the glammy Southern rock revivalism of Adler's own band. Shwayze signed to Geffen Records in 2007 and his self-titled debut album was released the following year, preceded by the single "Don't Be Shy" and followed by a stint on the 2008 Vans Warped Tour. A year later they returned with the electro-influenced album Let It Beat along with the single "Get U Home".

album review

Beating all tastemakers to the punch, opening cut "Livin' It Up" finds irresponsible brat-hop rapper Shwayze offering "No matter what it is you try to do/There's always gonna be somebody tryin' to hate on you/But that doesn't stop what we doooooo......" If it did, there certainly wouldn't be a second Shwayze album, as the man's simple rhymes, easy melodies, and Trustafarian-meets-slacker stance is generally reviled in the press. The fact that he and co-conspirator/producer Cisco Adler are MTV reality show veterans doesn't help their street-cred much, either. Still, the suburban party people understand, and Shwayze is here to provide the jams, unbothered by what the parents might think or, for that matter, anyone over of the age of 25. Sticking to his guns in spite of his Metacritic score, Shwayze revisits the stoned-on-Malibu-sunshine feel of his debut, while Adler adds the influences of the 2009 electro-revolution brought on by acts like Chromeo and 3OH!3. Bright synths and busy drum machines help reinforce the cover art's '80s vision of the future, but the raps remain the same as his first time out, as titles like "Livin' It Up'" and "Dirty Little Girl" give away their thin stories. A couple numbers with acoustic guitars and a heavy Sublime influence round out the album, while guest shots from Snoop Dogg and the Knux help justify any copies that land in the local "rap" section. Turn up your nose and you'll be missing the great summer number "Crazy for You" which is "rocking flip-flops" with a Ric Ocasek production and hold onto your hats guitar from Darryl Jenifer of the Bad Brains.

Track Listing
1 Livin' It Up Adler ... 03:03
2 Get U Home Adler, Smith 03:12
3 Crazy for You Adler, Smith 04:12
4 Maneatrr Adler, Grigg, Smith 03:19
5 Sally Is A... Adler, Smith 04:21
6 Dirty Little Girl Adler, Lindsey, Lindsey, Smith 03:47
7 Down at the Motel Adler, Smith 03:23
8 Daze Like This Adler, Smith 03:43
9 Wait All Night Adler, Smith 03:18
10 Perfect for Me Adler, Smith 04:37
11 Make a Lil' Love Adler, Smith 03:46
12 Heart and Soul Adler, Smith 05:21