new album released Oct 27th

Pacific Dust

from the album - Third Floor Story
YouTube - The Mother Hips "Third Floor Story"

from amg

Formed in Chico, CA, in 1991, earthy pop jam rockers the Mother Hips moved up from bar band status through a series of regional tours and built a sizable fan base in California. Songwriter, vocalist, and guitarist Tim Bluhm, guitarist Greg Loiacono, bassist Isaac Parsons, and drummer Mike Wofchuck met in the dorms of Chico State in the early '90s. Loiacono and Bluhm's harmonies and country-tinged melodies honored California's musical past from Merle Haggard to the Beach Boys to Neil Young. Their 1992 album, entitled Back to the Grotto, caught the ear of American Recordings, which released 1995's Part-Timer Goes Full and 1996's Shootout. This relationship led to high-profile slots on tours with Johnny Cash, Wilco, and the H.O.R.D.E. tour. Drummer Wofchuck was replaced by John Hofer for 1998's country-rock Later Days. Three years later, the band released the more pop-oriented Green Hills of Earth. As soon as the album gained notoriety, singer/guitarist Greg Loiacono decided to take a break from the group, leaving the band's status in question. In 2005, Bluhm, Loiacono, Hofer, and new bassist Paul Hoaglin resumed playing music and released the Red Tandy EP on Camera Recordsin 2006 and followed it up with the full-length Kiss the Crystal Flake in early 2007.

album review

Early in their career, it looked like San Francisco-based roots rockers, the Mother Hips, was "the horse to bet on," so to speak, as they made fans out of such renowned gentlemen as the Black Crowes' Chris Robinson and super-producer Rick Rubin the latter of whom was so impressed with the group that he signed them to his label, American Records. And while the Mother Hips have certainly carved a niche for themselves throughout a string of albums, they never managed to follow the likes of Wilco up the charts. But they continue to soldier on with new releases and tours to spread the word, and in 2009, their seventh studio set overall, Pacific Dust, dropped. It appears to be a concept album of sorts, which deals with music's many facets first discovering it ("White Falcon Fuzz"), record company politics ("Third Floor Story"), etc. Musically, expect a lot of vintage guitar sounds, Don Henley-like vocals, and laid-back tempos, as heard on "One Way Out," "All in Favor," etc. For smartly assembled and played modern-day roots rock, the Mother Hips are probably the most underrated band out there, with Pacific Dust serving as further proof to this claim.

Track Listing
1 White Falcon Fuzz Bluhm 04:18
2 Third Floor Story Bluhm 04:02
3 Jess Oxox Bluhm 03:37
4 The Lion & The Bull Loiacono 03:07
5 One Way Out Bluhm 03:34
6 All in Favor Loiacono 04:09
7 Pacific Dust Bluhm 06:07
8 Young Charles Ives Loiacono 04:40
9 Are You Free Bluhm 03:27
10 Bandits Boy Loiacono 03:29
11 Cheer Up Champ Bluhm 07:36