new album released Oct 20th


from the album - The Newark Airport Boogie
YouTube - Electric Six - The Newark Airport Boogie

from amg

Formerly known as the Wildbunch, the Detroit sextet Electric Six mix garage, disco, punk, new wave, and metal into cleverly dumb, in-your-face songs like "Danger! High Voltage," which reached number two on the British charts early in 2003. Singer Dick Valentine, guitarists Rock and Roll Indian and Surge Joebot, bassist Disco, and drummer M. formed the Wildbunch in 1996 (keyboardist Tait Nucleus? joined the band later), releasing their debut single, "I Lost Control (Of My Rock & Roll)," and the eight-track An Evening with the Many Moods of the Wildbunch's Greatest Hits...Tonight! that year on Uchu Cult Records. They also released 1999's full-length on that imprint. The group switched to Flying Bomb for singles like 1997's "The Ballade of MC Sucka DJ," the Christmas single "Flying Bomb Surprise Package, Vol. 1," and 2001's "Danger! High Voltage," which became an underground hit, particularly in the U.K.

The following year the group signed to XL and re-recorded "Danger! High Voltage," this time adding backing vocals from the White Stripes' Jack White. After the re-release of the single in 2003, Electric Six issued their full-length debut album, Fire, later that spring. Just a few weeks after the album's release, Disco, Rock and Roll Indian, and Surge Joebot left the band and were replaced by Frank Lloyd Bonaventure, the Colonel, and 661453Johnny Na$hinal. In 2004, the band got a new record deal with Rushmore, a British Warner Bros. imprint, and lost Bonaventure and M., whose bass and drum duties were filled by John R. Dequindre and Percussion World, respectively. The second Electric Six album, Señor Smoke, arrived in the U.K. early in 2005. It took another year for the album to be released stateside, on Metropolis Records. Switzerland arrived in fall of 2006 and I Shall Exterminate Everything Around Me That Restricts Me from Being the Master followed in October of 2007. Early in 2008, Valentine embarked on his American Troubador solo tour, which included stops in Hamtramck, MI, and Portland, OR; that spring, Electric Six recorded their fifth album Flashy in the Colonel's studio. Metropolis released Flashy that fall.

album review

After 13 years, five prior albums, and a countless number of shows, Electric Six is still going strong. Tyler Spencer (aka Dick Valentine) still has his growl, his falsetto, and his sense of humor intact, as he spouts absurd lines from his tour bus diaries, noting: "There's no such thing as an electric tuba/the Detroit River's not a good place to scuba," "Except for GBV and Devo/Nothing seems to redeem Ohio," and "Still got something to put in ya/But we'll have to go to West Virginia" Since Fire had a goal of using the word "Fire" as many times as possible (933 times), there's a chance that Valentine may be going for a loose concept here. Then again, knowing that Valentine's admitted that 90-percent of his lyrics aren't really about anything, it's hard to tell. Themes aside, as always, the merit of an Electric Six album is based on how comical and energetic it is, and Kill shows that Valentine and the crew (661453Johnny Na$hinal, the Colonel, Tait Nucleus?, Percussion World, and Smorgasbord) are as eager as ever. Musically, they're at their most aggressive. The levels are maxed out, the amps are cranked, and the distortion dominates, as they barrel through genres; from the punky and short "You're Bored," to the loungey, organ ballad "My Idea of Fun," to the Auto-Tuned Euro dance groove "Newark Airport" — the third song in their ongoing saga of chill-electro songs for airports (along with 2007's "Lucifer Airlines" and 2008's "Transatlantic Flight.") As on the last album, Flashy, cowbell metal dominates their sound, with songs like "Escape from Ohio" and "Waste of Time and Money" sharing more with '80s leather than '70s polyester. This darker, heavier tone makes the majority of Kill less of a party than Fire or I Shall Exterminate Everything Around Me That Restricts Me from Being the Master, but splendidly, Dance Commander rears his head to make demands like "Shake that tambourine/Shake that shaking machine!" in "Egyptian Cowboy" and encourages mass consumption in the splendid "Body Shot," which devolves from a grunge-disco jam into a wonderful, dubbed-out frenzy.

Track Listing
1 Body Shot Spencer 03:46
2 Waste of Time and Money Spencer 03:28
3 Egyptian Cowboy Spencer 04:20
4 Escape from Ohio Spencer 03:11
5 Rubbin' Me the Wrong Way Spencer 03:03
6 One Sick Puppy Spencer 02:53
7 Steal Your Bones Spencer 04:20
8 My Idea of Fun Spencer 03:17
9 I Belong in a Factory Spencer 02:32
10 The Newark Airport Boogie Spencer 02:59
11 Stimulated Love Spencer 03:30
12 You're Bored Spencer 01:45
13 White Eyes Spencer 04:20