new ep released Oct 13th


from the ep - Evil Ways
YouTube - Los Lonely Boys - Evil Ways

from amg

Hailing from San Angelo, TX, Los Lonely Boys is a sibling trio whose music draws equally from rock, blues, Tex-Mex, conjunto, and Tejano. Such a combination is shaped by the band's three brothers: guitarist Henry Garza, bassist JoJo Garza, and drummer Ringo Garza, Jr. The siblings' father, Ringo Garza, Sr., was a member of another sibling band, the Falcones, who played conjunto music around Texas during the '70s and '80s. After that group broke up, Garza went solo, backed by his three sons even before they reached their teens. The family relocated to Nashville in the 1990s, and gradually the sons emerged as a group separate from their father.

After moving back to Texas, the boys recorded their debut album, 2003's Los Lonely Boys, at Willie Nelson's Pedernales studio in Austin with Nelson sitting in. Epic Records picked the album up for major-label distribution in March 2004, resulting in a high chart placement for the album's lead single, "Heaven," as well as a Grammy Award for Best Pop Performance the following year. The Boys released their eagerly awaited sophomore album, Sacred, in 2006, and Forgiven followed in 2008. A holiday album, Christmas Spirit, also appeared in 2008, and the band hit the road for an acoustic tour one year later, punctuated by the release of the covers-only 1969 EP.

ep review

Before launching an acoustic tour in late 2009, Los Lonely Boys found time to return to the studio and record 1969, a short 'n' sweet homage to one of the most pivotal years in rock & roll. The bandmates cover material by the Beatles, Santana, the Doors, Buddy Holly, and Tony Joe White, and they do so with clean (sometimes downright antiseptic) execution. The Garza brothers are all comfortable with this genre, having grown up in a musical household filled with classic rock and Latin rhythms, but they rarely move beyond the songs' original arrangements. As a result, 1969 is reverent but not quite rocking, and the substitution of spotless, well-scrubbed guitars for vintage grit only highlights the difference between this EP and its source material. Los Lonely Boys are still a fine roots rock band, though, even when they're sounding less than inspired.

Track Listing
1 Evil Ways Henry 03:39
2 Well All Right Allison ... 04:12
3 She Came in Through the Bathroom Window Lennon, McCartney 02:54
4 Polk Salad Annie White 03:38
5 Roadhouse Blues John Paul Densmore ... 05:05