new album released Oct 13th


from the album - Slice
YouTube - Five For Fighting - Slice

from amg

Five for Fighting is the one-man band of John Ondrasik, who rose to fame in 2001 on the strength of the pop/rock ballad "Superman (It's Not Easy)." Although originally released in 2000, the single became popular after the events of September 11, 2001, which shone new light on Five for Fighting's tale of flight, insecurity, and heroics. Another Top 40 hit, "100 Years", followed three years later, thus cementing Five for Fighting's status as one of the decade's leading balladeers.

Born and raised in the San Fernando Valley of Los Angeles, Ondrasik started his musical training when he was only two years old. His mother, a piano teacher, gave him lessons, and he began turning his attention to guitar at the age of 13. He taught himself to use the latter instrument and soon began writing music. Somewhere along the way, he also took vocal lessons in opera. After discovering that opera wasn't his cup of tea, Ondrasik shifted his focus once again, this time turning to artists like Billy Joel, Journey, Elton John, Stevie Wonder, and Earth, Wind & Fire for inspiration.

Using the stage name Five for Fighting a term he appropriated from ice hockey's rule book Ondrasik made his major-label in 1997 by releasing Message for Albert. He then left the roster of his original label, Capitol Records, and signed with Columbia before issuing America Town. Released in 2000, the album furthered Ondrasik's themes of love and life while adding a political spin, a combination that yielded warm reviews but sluggish sales. America Town might have been another strong outing from a talented (yet commercially invisible) songwriter were it not for the tragic events of September 11, 2001, and the nation's subsequent embrace of the delicate piano ballad "Superman (It's Not Easy)." Five for Fighting performed the song at the Concert for New York City that winter, and America Town went platinum several months later.

While it was a bittersweet way to find fame, the single's success gave Ondrasik the artistic license he'd always craved. When The Battle for Everything appeared in early 2004, it was Five for Fighting's most stylistically ambitious and lyrically bold recording to date. It also yielded another high-charting single, "100 Years." 2006's Two Lights continued Ondrasik's exploration of blue-collar America by focusing on love, mortality, war, and family. A concert album entitled Back Country Live arrived in 2007, followed by Slice featuring several songs co-written by musical theater composer Steven Schwartz in October 2009.

album review

Continuing the journey into full-blown soft rock Five for Fighting began on 2006's Two Lights, 2009's Slice takes its title from a Don McLean "American Pie" allusion and its sound from early-'70s Billy Joel and, especially, Elton John, whose grandly orchestrated albums with Paul Buckmaster provide a touchstone for this, John Ondrasik's fifth collection of originals. Indebted as he is to the past, he is indeed a man of his time, well-manicured and polite, never coloring outside of the lines, but this inherent good nature serves him better on Slice than it did on his early recordings because the emphasis is on the sound, not his quivering sincerity. Each song is richly, fully arranged, placing an emphasis on his symphonic soft rock, and in pure musical terms, this is his most appealing set of songs to date, precisely because it pushes his melodies, not lyrics, to the forefront.

Track Listing
1 Slice 3:36
2 Note to an Unknown Soldier 3:30
3 Tuesday 3:34
4 Chances 3:37
5 This Dance 3:51
6 Timberline 3:23
7 Transfer 4:25
8 Hope 4:00
9 Story of Your Life 3:30
10 Love Can't Change the Weather 3:53
11 Augie Nieto 4:19