Thread: Hello

Default Hello

Hi, I'm a fairly young musician and I've been making music for about a year and a half now. I'm into funk, jazz, and disco. Genres I rarely see any praise for. In fact I don't think there is a funk or disco section on this site. Soul is close enough I guess. I often feel alone in my interests and wish I had some people to talk to about what I'm trying to do. That's why I decided to sign up for this site. I really don't like forums because of how slow they can be and usually nobody replies but this seems like a pretty big community so I guess I'll find out if it works or not.

I started making music for a friend who needed a soundtrack for a video game. He wanted me to use a 3DS to make all of the different songs. I thought it would be easy at first but I was very wrong. I ended up taking too long and he got another musician to replace me. One of my friends started teaching me a bit of music theory and I've been learning from him ever since. I am a big fan of Disney's Tron movies and Daft Punk's music in Tron Legacy. I always liked their music but after that movie I started listening to it even more. Eventually I decided I wanted to make music just like them. Then I found out where some of the samples they used came from. Disco. I really love disco. Anything funky makes me want to dance. I started looking into more music theory so I could figure out how to make my songs more funky and I discovered jazz. Jazz is a pretty big influence in disco so naturally I wanted to learn it. I never got to be in a band in school or anything so I don't know the first thing about reading music. I do it all by ear. Jazz theory is something I've just kind of picked up parts of here and there.