Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Biffy Clyro - Opposites

  1. #1
    Grumpy Old Man Music Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Lancaster, Kentucky, United States

    Default Biffy Clyro - Opposites

    online listen
    had not heard an album of theirs
    not too bad
    surprised they could hold my interest for 20 tracks
    sneaks on my list
    1.6 from me and a converted 2.1 from allmusic

    band website

    from the album - Black Chandelier

    released Mar 12th, 2013

    Bio - from allmusic

    Assembling in the late '90s, in the town of Kilmarnock, near Glasgow, Scotland, Biffy Clyro
    comprises a three-piece lineup, fronted by vocalist and guitarist Simon Neil along with James
    Johnston (bass) and drummer Ben Johnston. Playing loud combinations of pop/rock, inspired by
    the music of bands like Weezer, Biffy Clyro first started by playing their aggressive pop tunes
    in the nearby Glasgow club scene, eventually enjoying a stable and enthusiastic response from
    their audiences. After releasing their first EP, Thekidswhopoptodaywillrocktomorrow, via the
    Electric Honey record label, the band managed to secure some airplay on Scotland's BBC, which
    opened the way for even more exposure within the Scottish music scene. Not long after, the trio
    signed a recording contract with Beggars Banquet and offered their first single, "27," in
    October 2000. During the following months, the group played numerous live shows, including one
    opening slot for their longtime idols Weezer. In February 2002, the crew offered yet another
    single, simply titled "57," before the release of their long-awaited debut full-length,
    Blackened Sky, issued in March of that same year. A year later, the more elaborate The Vertigo
    of Bliss appeared. Constant touring to support the album kept the band busy until mid-2004 when
    they recorded Infinity Land, which was released late in the year. Three years later the
    successful single "Saturday Superhouse" announced the coming of their fourth album, Puzzle. In
    2009, Biffy Clyro released its fifth-studio album, Only Revolutions. Featuring such singles as,
    "Mountains," "Bubbles," and "Many of Horror," the album was both a critical and commercial
    success going platinum in 2010 and earning several accolades including a Mercury Music Prize
    nomination. In 2012, Biffy Clyro released an online video trailer announcing its forthcoming
    sixth-studio album, Opposites. Originally planned as two separate albums, Opposites is set to
    be released 2013 as a double album featuring at least 20 cuts.

    Album Review - from allmusic

    Biffy Clyro's 2013 album, Opposites, is the band's sixth studio effort and follows up the
    band's hugely successful 2009 Mercury Prize-nominated release, Only Revolutions. Whether
    appreciated as a double- or single-disc album (the band released both versions), Opposites is a
    sprawling, ambitious work that once again finds the Scottish rock trio balancing its prog rock
    inclinations with its undeniable talent for mainstream, radio-ready pop. In that sense, Biffy
    Clyro are certainly one of the most album-oriented, '70s-style rock acts of their generation --
    though their sound is hardly retro. On the contrary, with lead singer/guitarist Simon Neil
    belting in a thick brogue over the band's knotty, metal-influenced arrangements, Biffy Clyro
    come off more like a Scottish version of Fugazi than, say, a classic rock band like Rush,
    although there is a twinge of nerd-rock power here, too. There is something very concept album
    -esque about Biffy Clyro's Opposites, especially when taken in the entire two-disc format. It's
    very laser light show-friendly, as many of the songs here are heavy with loud guitars, frenetic
    drumming, and intricate, multi-layered arrangements. Primarily, however, the album rides on the
    kind of anthemic, crowd-pleasing pop songs that made Only Revolutions such a success. Where
    last time we got the melodic bombast of "Mountains" and "Many of Horror," here we get the
    equally as wide-eyed "Sounds Like Balloons" and the romantic, soundtrack-ready "Biblical."
    Ultimately, Biffy Clyro's gift as a band is to craft songs that balance immediately catchy
    hooks with complex arrangements that only help to reinforce the drama of the pop moment.
    Thankfully, there are plenty of these dichotomous yet rapturous moments on Opposites.

    Track Listing

    1. Different People
    2. Black Chandelier
    3. Sounds Like Balloons
    4. Opposite
    5. The Joke's On Us
    6. Biblical
    7. A Girl and His Cat
    8. The Fog
    9. Little Hospitals
    10. The Thaw
    11. Stingin' Belle
    12. Modern Magic Formula
    13. Spanish Radio
    14. Victory Over the Sun
    15. Pocket
    16. Trumpet or Tap
    17. Skylight
    18. Accident Without Emergency
    19. Woo Woo
    20. Picture a Knife Fight
    A man only learns in two ways, one by reading, and the other by association with smarter people.
    Will Rogers

  2. #2


    Ok track but nothing special IMO

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts