online listen
too techno for me
most made for the dancefloor
I don't make it to the dancefloor much
unless it's the local barn dance
I do like the clip, but that was the only thing
nothing else like that on the album
1.1 from me and a converted 2.1 from the pros at allmusic

from the album - Off The Dancefloor

released Nov 27th, 2012

Bio - from allmusic

Big-beat electronica project Junkie XL was largely the work of Amsterdam-based remixer Tom Holkenborg,
previously known for his work with acts like Nerve and Fear Factory. Beginning his career at the age of
14, Holkenborg initially played in area funk and reggae units, later switching to alternative rock; while
working in a music store, he first began experimenting with synthesizers and technology, and in 1996 won
the Grand Prix of the Netherlands as best house music producer. After completing Junkie XL's 1997 debut LP
Saturday Teenage Kick, a blend of electronica and rock, he enlisted rapper Rudeboy (an alumnus of Urban
Dance Squad), DJ Frankie D., drummer Baz Mattie, and guitarist Renee van der Zee to transform his one-man
studio project into a working band.

Big Sound of the Drags, released in 1999, was the first record from the lineup. More than two years later,
Holkenborg masterminded the first (legal) remix of an Elvis Presley song, "A Little Less Conversation" (as
heard in a Nike commercial to coincide with the 2002 World Cup). Released as a single, it hit number one
in Britain by June. The track landed on his 2003 album Radio JXL: A Broadcast from the Computer Hell
Cabin, which also featured vocals from Chuck D, Robert Smith, and Gary Numan. His 2008 effort Booming Back
at You featured vocalist Lauren Rocket on a cover of Siouxsie and the Banshees' "Cities in Dust" along
with a guest appearance from fellow producer Steve Aoki. Synthesized, from 2012, included guest
appearances from Datarock, Tommie Sunshine, and Tears for Fears member Curt Smith.

Album Review - from allmusic

Having broken through back in 2002 with his remix of Elvis Presley's "A Little Less Conversation," Dutch
producer Tom Holkenborg, aka Junkie XL, spent the next decade doing what DJs used to do -- that is, mixing
the pop superstars, landing tracks in video games, and gaining a loyal following through his EDM albums,
which go from electro to big beat as if dance music wasn't following a linear timeline. Strange thing was,
DJ culture blew up big time while he was covering esoteric new wave hits (check his redo of Siouxsie and
the Banshees' "Cities in Dust" for an aggro industrial explosion), and suddenly Skrillex and Swedish House
Mafia were taking relentless electronic dance music out of the IT department and into the stadiums, frats,
sororities, and malls and on to download cues. Good news, then, that this DJ -- who seems equal parts
Fatboy Slim, KMFDM, and Oakenfold -- hasn't sold his soul to the bass drop or the post-trance gloss of the
Swedish set, as Synthesized comes off like a time machine, speeding through electronic music's pre-dubstep
past while giving all genres the JXL spin. Synth pop from the '80s gets a warm hug during the sweet "When
Is Enough Not Enough" featuring Tears for Fears vocalist Curt Smith, while the opening chillout cut "Take
Off on Molly's E" is a heavenly transmission from the planet Orb or Orbital. Blippy techno and old-school
funk meet on the seriously struttin' "Off the Dancefloor" with Isis Salam playing the role of Grace Jones,
then Datarock join for the crunching anthem "Gloria" as if the Dust Brothers and the Chemical Brothers
were still on top. With Timothy Leary samples and a robotic bassline, "Leave Behind Your Ego" is the
heyday of acid house with a 2012 punch, while the long-titled closer "The Art of Luxurious Intergalactic
Time Travel" brings reminders of short-titled new age artists like Vangelis, Deuter, and Eno. For those
who like their electronic music clearly defined, it's a hard sell, but Synthesized is an easy
recommendation for those who appreciate Junkie's skill and/or any witty genre-jumping around dance-pop.

Track Listing

1. Take Off on Mollys E
2. Off the Dancefloor
3. Leave Behind Your Ego
4. Synthesized
5. When Is Enough Not Enough
6. Twilight Trippin
7. Love Machine
8. Gloria
9. Bonzai
10. Klatshing!
11. Kill the Band
12. The Art of Luxurious Intergalactic Time Travel