online listen
my weekly dose
over to SteveO
1.0 from me and a converted 2.2 from the pros at allmusic

from the album - Our Courage, Our Cancer

released Nov 6th, 2012

Bio - from allmusic

A shared love of heavy metal and, more specifically, its subgenre of metalcore ensured that the members of While She
Sleeps were to continue the bond formed at school in Sheffield, England long after their final exams were over. In
2006, singer Jordan "The Face" Widdowson, drummer Adam Savage, bassist Aaran Mckenzie, and guitarists Mat Welsh and
Sean Long decided to get together after playing in various other groups in the area. The bandmembers played shows
regularly for the next three years before deciding to focus on While She Sleeps on a full-time basis in order to get
to where they wanted to be. This is when Widdowson would bow out, leaving the door open for Lawrence Taylor to step
in on vocals. Citing work commitments, Widdowson became a spectator to the eventual rise of his former bandmates as
they went to work on their debut, The North Stands for Nothing.

Released by Small Town Records in the summer of 2010, the eight-track mini-album was recorded in a converted barn
and mixed by Welsh. Having been well received by the rock press, Good Fight Music picked The North Stands for
Nothing up for distribution in North America where, after originally being only available through download, it was
released physically with the addition of the single "Be(lie)ve" in the summer of 2011. Recorded in the early months
of that year, "Be(lie)ve" came during a busy period for While She Sleeps. As well as recording a live session for
BBC Radio 1 at Maida Vale Studios, they were invited to open for fellow Sheffield-based metalcore outfit Bring Me
the Horizon at the O2 Academy in their home town, although they had to pull out of a planned American tour with
Bring Me the Horizon in the following months.

Not letting this setback halt their progress, following extensive touring of their own, While She Sleeps went into
the studio with producer Carl Brown in November 2011 and recorded their debut full-length, This Is the Six. The
album -- released on Search & Destroy Records in the U.K. in August 2012 -- was a huge step up sonically for the
band, displayed best on the anthemic title track and lead single. In the months leading up to the release of This Is
the Six, While She Sleeps played the Download Festival and won the Kerrang! Award for Best British Newcomer.

Album Review - from allmusic

Named after the term they use to describe their close relationship with their fans, Sheffield metalcore quintet
While She Sleeps' full-length debut album, This Is the Six, is steeped in a similar gang mentality. Attempting to
replicate frontman Lawrence "Loz" Taylor's larynx-shredding vocals isn't particularly advisable, but the majority of
the 12 tracks here are designed to be shouted along with from the rooftops, hence the terrace chants on the
feedback-drenched "Love At War," the Gallows-esque, groove-laden "Satisfied In Suffering," and the squalling post-
hardcore of "False Freedom." Backed by Carl Bown's gutsy, dynamic production, the constant stream of Guitar Hero
solos, and propulsive rhythms on the likes of the aptly titled, doom-laden "Until the Death," the ferocious
Scandinavian-tinged "Be(lie)ve" (the only track to make the cut from 2010 mini-album The North Stands for Nothing),
and the breakneck-speed opener of "Dead Behind the Eyes" (featuring Comeback Kid's Andrew Neufeld) will no doubt
appeal to the army of fans who helped them to scoop Best British Newcomer at the Kerrang! Awards. But This Is the
Six is arguably far more intriguing when it abandons its default mode of anarchy and pursues a more harmonious
approach, as on the surprisingly delicate instrumental "The Chapel" and the elegant piano hooks of the choral closer
"Reunite." While She Sleeps may still find themselves overshadowed by their Steel City neighbors Bring Me the
Horizon, but there's enough potential here to suggest they might not be second-best for too much longer.

Track Listing

1. Dead Behind the Eyes
2. False Freedom
3. Satisfied in Suffering
4. Seven Hills
5. Our Courage, Our Cancer
6. This Is the Six
7. The Chapel
8. Be(lie)ve
9. Until the Death
10. Love at War
11. The Plague of a New Age
12. Reunite