online listen
I have the debut by these guys
but haven't heard anything since
not impressed here
1.3 from me and a converted 2.2 from the pros at allmusic

from the album - Chalk Outline

released Oct 2nd 2012

Bio - from allmusic

The members of Three Days Grace began bashing punk chords when they were in their teens, carving a derivative yet
energetic sound that fueled their live performances. Three Days Grace was formed in Norwood, Ontario, Canada, in
1997 by Adam Gontier (vocals, guitar), Brad Walst (bass), and Neil Sanderson (drums). The group was originally
called Groundswell, a five-piece that lasted from 1992 until transforming to a trio five years later. Gontier and
Walst were raised in Norwood, and many of their songs were inspired by living in a place with a population of around
1,500. The bandmembers were still in high school when they had their first gig, and they performed anywhere that
would accept them -- including opening for a movie.

Three Days Grace eventually relocated to Toronto and were introduced to producer Gavin Brown by their old manager.
The band gave Brown a private set, and he selected what he felt were the most promising tracks. The group then
produced a demo for EMI Music Publishing Canada. With Brown at the helm, Three Days Grace recorded "(I Hate)
Everything About You." The tune got them a publishing deal with EMI, and they soon were signed to Jive after being
courted by the company's president. Brown and Three Days Grace were sent to a studio in Boston, MA, to start the
group's debut album. The band completed its self-titled full-length in Woodstock, NY, at an isolated location free
from big-city distractions. Heavily influenced by Kyuss and Sunny Day Real Estate, the dark, angst-ridden tales of
small-town love and hate on Three Days Grace brought the group a Next Big Thing tag.

Three Days Grace was released on July 22, 2003, by which time "(I Hate) Everything About You" was already hit on
alternative radio stations in Canada. The band toured extensively behind the record for the next two years as both a
support act and headliners, but after a while, life on the road left the band, especially Gontier, feeling isolated
and alone. Consequently, this theme of disconnection -- coupled with the realization that one was in fact not alone
-- would serve as the basis for their follow-up album. Getting back to their roots by writing the record in the
Ontario countryside, One-X was released in June 2006. The album, which hit number five on the Billboard Top 200,
marked the recorded debut of the band's second guitarist, Barry Stock. Three Days Grace supported One-X through the
summer on dates alongside Staind, Hoobastank, and Nickelback, while "Animal I Have Become" became a number one
modern rock hit. In 2009 the group released its third full-length album, Life Starts Now. After heading out on tour
with bands like Nickelback and Avenged Sevenfold, the band returned to the studio to record their fourth album, the
more atmospheric, electronic-tinged Transit of Venus.

Album Review - from allmusic

Open and more intricate, Transit of Venus, the fourth album from Canadian rockers Three Days Grace, finds them
elevating their driving sound into something altogether more refined than anything they've done before. While
"nuanced" probably isn't a term that people would normally associate with the hard rock outfit, it feels like an
oddly appropriate descriptor for the direction Three Days Grace have taken their sound, setting aside some of the
larger-than-life crunch of some of their earlier work to add a level of atmosphere that gives the band the
opportunity to stick out from the post-grunge pack. While Transit of Venus certainly has its fair share of fist-
pumping anthems, the album is most interesting when the band is finding new inroads to heaviness. Rather than always
depending on the guitars' familiar crunch, tracks like "Chalk Outline" and "The High Road" utilize the buzz of
droning synths to add a layer of molasses-like thickness to the songs that makes them stand out from the band's
guitar-heavy work without feeling so radically different that fans won't know what to make of them. Even when Three
Days Grace stick closer to what they've done in the past, a song like album opener "Sign of the Times" shows the
band experimenting with atmosphere, scaling back the guitars to let the song breathe a little bit, providing the
song with the space necessary to be more, well, spacious. Despite all of this sonic tinkering, the band still
manages to insert plenty of those fist-pumping, arena-ready moments into Transit of Venus, providing a familiar
landmark to keep fans from getting lost, while also providing the album with enough old-fashioned riffage to show
that Three Days Grace haven't given up on rock.

Track Listing

1. Sign of the Times
2. Chalk Outline
3. The High Road
4. Operate
5. Anonymous
6. Misery Loves My Company
7. Give In to Me
8. Happiness
9. Give Me a Reason
10. Time That Remains
11. Expectations
12. Broken Glass
13. Unbreakable Heart