Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Yellowcard - Southern Air

  1. #1
    Grumpy Old Man Music Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Lancaster, Kentucky, United States

    Default Yellowcard - Southern Air

    online listen
    first new album I've got to listen to in a few weeks
    ok, how many Blink clones do we need?
    so many groups I hear in this style that sound like them
    this one started out ok, but got old fast, which was the problem with Blink for me
    liked half of the album and no potential for growth
    1.5 from me and a converted 2.4 from the pros at allmusic

    from the album - Always Summer

    released August 14th

    Bio - from allmusic

    The punk-inspired quintet Yellowcard formed in Jacksonville, Florida, in 1997 but didn't solidify their lineup until
    a move to Southern California in early 2000. Comprised of vocalist/guitarist Ryan Key (who had briefly played with
    Cali-based Craig's Brother), vocalist/violinist Sean Mackin, guitarist Ben Harper, drummer Longineu Parsons, and
    bassist Warren Cooke, the band officially debuted on wax in 2001 with One for the Kids (Lobster) and returned a year
    later with the Underdog EP for Fueled by Ramen. The group had a really big year in 2003, replacing Cooke with Pete
    Mosely (of Inspection 12), signing with Capitol, issuing Ocean Avenue on the label, and heading out for a series of
    Warped Tour dates with the recently added Mosely replaced by Alex Lewis. Fall and winter found Yellowcard hitting
    clubs with acts like Matchbook Romance and Less Than Jake.

    In late 2004, Ocean Avenue was certified double platinum by the RIAA, and singles such as "Way Away," "Only One,"
    and the title track continued to impact MTV and Top 40 radio for the rest of the year. The same year, Lewis was
    given his walking papers when Mosely approached the band about rejoining. Yellowcard's sophomore effort, Where We
    Stand, was reissued in June 2005, and Lights and Sounds was released in early 2006. Though ultimately not as well
    received by fans as prior albums, upon its first week of release, Lights and Sounds entered the Billboard 200 at
    number five and earned the number one spot on the Alternative Album chart, quickly gaining momentum on the 2.5-
    million-selling Ocean Avenue. Meanwhile, founding member Harper (who also runs Takeover Records) left the group amid
    some band controversy and was replaced by Staring Back guitarist Ryan Mendez.

    The band returned to the studio later that year and got to work on its fifth full-length, Paper Walls, which was
    released in July 2007. In 2008 the bandmembers announced they would be going on an indefinite hiatus, leaving
    Capitol Records. After recharging their batteries for a couple of years, Yellowcard signed with Hopeless Records and
    in 2011 released When You're Through Thinking, Say Yes. In 2012, Yellowcard returned with their eighth studio album,
    Southern Air. Featuring guest appearances from All Time Low's Alex Gaskarth, Hey Monday's Cassadee Pope, and We Are
    the In Crowd's Taylor Jardine, the album included the singles "Surface of the Sun," "Awakening," and "Here I Am

    Album Review

    Emo-rock stalwarts Yellowcard have been building toward a more mature, nuanced sound over the course of their past
    few releases, and the band continues this trend with 2012's Southern Air. Coming up on 15 years since they first
    started playing, Yellowcard are clearly at the point in their lives when teenage ambitions have long since given way
    to adult realizations. In that sense, while Yellowcard's songs still retain the youthful, emo-rock enthusiasm and
    catchy melodicism that marked the best of their earlier work, there is a weightiness and expansive gaze to many of
    the songs on Southern Air. No track on the album points this out as directly as the bittersweet "Ten," which finds
    lead singer Ryan Key working through the loss of a child and imagining what their relationship might have been ten
    years on. He sings "You would be ten and I'd be driving you to school/You would tell all your friends that you
    thought I was cool".

    Track Listing

    1. Awakening
    2. The Surface of the Sun
    3. Always Summer
    4. Here I Am Alive
    5. Sleep in the Snow
    6. A Vicious Kind
    7. Telescope
    8. Rivertown Blues
    9. Ten
    10. Southern Air

  2. #2
    External Communications TraceNspace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Florida, United States


    I agree. It's the same old sound that's been being rehashed since the 90's

  3. #3


    both you guys summed it up perfectly

  4. #4


    haven't listened to this, but I don't remember being too impressed by their other album

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts