online listen
don't recall their last one being this pop sounding
liked Timelines and Happy Anniversary
what say you Penny Lane?
1.5 from me and a converted 2.0 from the pros at allmusic

from the album - Timelines

released June 12th, 2012

Bio - from allmusic

A leading light in the punk-pop genre, Motion City Soundtrack includes members Joshua Cain (guitar), Tony Thaxton
(drums), Justin Pierre (vocals/guitar), Jesse Johnson (Moog), and Matthew Taylor (bass). Following their high-school
graduation, Minneapolis natives Pierre and Cain -- both of whom were inspired by Sunny Day Real Estate, Jawbox, the
Flaming Lips, and Superchunk -- formed the band in 1999. The pair assembled a temporary lineup and issued a self-
released 7" that same year. Later, while touring through Pennsylvania in support of their release, Motion City
Soundtrack met Thaxton and Taylor of the Virginia-based band Submerge. The two musicians decided to leave their
hometown of Richmond, VA, to join Motion City Soundtrack full-time, and the expanded band soon entered the studio
with producer/engineer Ed Rose (the Get Up Kids, Ultimate Facebook). Three weeks before recording commenced, they
were also joined by keyboardist Jesse Johnson (whose personal record label, Ordinary Records, had issued some of
Jimmy Eat World's earliest material in 1995) to relieve singer/guitarist Pierre of his synthesizer duties.

With a new lineup firmly in place, the band's punk-glazed debut, I Am the Movie, was released in the summer of 2003.
While playing venues and basements in support of the album, Motion City Soundtrack was picked up by Epitaph Records;
later, they joined blink-182 on a tour through Europe and Japan. Blink's bassist, Mark Hoppus, took a liking to the
band and agreed to produce their next album; the resulting Commit This to Memory was released two years later and
featured an increasingly pop-heavy sound. A deluxe version of the album (complete with bonus DVD) appeared in 2006,
and the band spent the summer on Warped Tour before heading to Europe with OK Go that fall. Entering the studio for
the third time, Motion City Soundtrack began to work with producers Adam Schlesinger (of Fountains of Wayne), Eli
Janney (of Girls Against Boys), and Ric Ocasek (of the Cars). The completed product, Even If It Kills Me, was
released in September 2007.

Even If It Kills Me cracked the Top 20 during its first week, becoming the band's highest-charting album to date.
Major labels took notice, and by the following summer, Motion City Soundtrack had signed a new contract with
Columbia Records. Eager to capitalize on such momentum, the group quickly wrapped up their Warped Tour obligations,
wrote new material during the latter half of 2008, and returned to the recording studio with Mark Hoppus. My
Dinosaur Life was completed by June 2009 and released early the following year, with "Disappear" serving as the lead
single. After a couple years of touring, which found the band making stops all over the United States as well the
U.K. and Brazil, Motion City Soundtrack went back into the studio in 2011 to work on new material. Their fifth
album, Go, arrived in 2012 on Epitaph.

Album Review - from allmusic

Well known for their driving, sugary-sweet emo-pop sound, Motion City Soundtrack ditch some of their punk leanings
for a more pure pop sound on their fifth album, Go. While the band has always had a sunny, sweet quality, the album
finds the group returning with a sound that feels more smoothed out and carefully measured. Though Motion City
Soundtrack make this more subdued sound work for them, it sometimes feels a bit restrained. Despite the hooky,
Weezer-esque guitars found on "The Coma Kid," the song feels like it needs a little boost, as if there's a volume
ceiling that the band just can't quite break through. Overall, the album feels a little less bright, as if, since
their last album was a summer record that was released in the winter, they would make Go a more wintry record to put
out in the summer. While Motion City Soundtrack do get to open things up and spread their rock wings on "The Worst
Is Yet to Come," the song is the exception on the album and not the rule. That said, this new sound isn't
necessarily bad; it's just different, and though fans might need a minute to adjust to the more laid-back nature of
the songs found on Go, a close listen will reveal a sound that, though not bigger, is definitely deeper than their
earlier work. There are layers of atmosphere at work on the album that just wouldn't be possible if the band was
trying to incorporate them into a bunch of rapid-fire pop-punk wind sprints. These changes make Go an album that,
once fans shift into the proper gear, really shows that these guys are capable of something more expansive than
anything they've done before.

Track Listing

1. Circuits and Wires
2. True Romance
3. Son of a Gun
4. Timelines
5. Everyone Will Die
6. The Coma Kid
7. Box Elder
8. The Worst Is Yet to Come
9. Bad Idea
10. Happy Anniversary
11. Floating Down the River